Format
Sort by
Items per page

Send to

Choose Destination

Links from PubMed

Items: 18

1.

Atherosclerosis across 4000 years of human history: the Horus study of four ancient populations.

Thompson RC, Allam AH, Lombardi GP, Wann LS, Sutherland ML, Sutherland JD, Soliman MA, Frohlich B, Mininberg DT, Monge JM, Vallodolid CM, Cox SL, Abd el-Maksoud G, Badr I, Miyamoto MI, el-Halim Nur el-Din A, Narula J, Finch CE, Thomas GS.

Lancet. 2013 Apr 6;381(9873):1211-22. doi: 10.1016/S0140-6736(13)60598-X. Epub 2013 Mar 12.

PMID:
23489753
2.

What can ancient mummies teach us about atherosclerosis?

Wann S, Thomas GS.

Trends Cardiovasc Med. 2014 Oct;24(7):279-84. doi: 10.1016/j.tcm.2014.06.005. Epub 2014 Jul 3. Review.

PMID:
25106086
3.

Is atherosclerosis fundamental to human aging? Lessons from ancient mummies.

Clarke EM, Thompson RC, Allam AH, Wann LS, Lombardi GP, Sutherland ML, Sutherland JD, Cox SL, Soliman MA, Abd el-Maksoud G, Badr I, Miyamoto MI, Frohlich B, Nur el-din AH, Stewart AF, Narula J, Zink AR, Finch CE, Michalik DE, Thomas GS.

J Cardiol. 2014 May;63(5):329-34. doi: 10.1016/j.jjcc.2013.12.012. Epub 2014 Feb 28. Review.

4.

Why did ancient people have atherosclerosis?: from autopsies to computed tomography to potential causes.

Thomas GS, Wann LS, Allam AH, Thompson RC, Michalik DE, Sutherland ML, Sutherland JD, Lombardi GP, Watson L, Cox SL, Valladolid CM, Abd El-Maksoud G, Al-Tohamy Soliman M, Badr I, el-Halim Nur el-Din A, Clarke EM, Thomas IG, Miyamoto MI, Kaplan HS, Frohlich B, Narula J, Stewart AF, Zink A, Finch CE.

Glob Heart. 2014 Jun;9(2):229-37. doi: 10.1016/j.gheart.2014.04.002. Review.

5.

Computed tomographic evidence of atherosclerosis in the mummified remains of humans from around the world.

Thompson RC, Allam AH, Zink A, Wann LS, Lombardi GP, Cox SL, Frohlich B, Sutherland ML, Sutherland JD, Frohlich TC, King SI, Miyamoto MI, Monge JM, Valladolid CM, El-Halim Nur El-Din A, Narula J, Thompson AM, Finch CE, Thomas GS.

Glob Heart. 2014 Jun;9(2):187-96. doi: 10.1016/j.gheart.2014.03.2455. Review.

6.

From ancient to contemporary times: a concise history of incisional hernia repair.

Sanders DL, Kingsnorth AN.

Hernia. 2012 Feb;16(1):1-7. doi: 10.1007/s10029-011-0870-5. Epub 2011 Aug 23. Review.

PMID:
21861164
7.

Eighteen hundred years of controversy: the paranasal sinuses.

Blanton PL, Biggs NL.

Am J Anat. 1969 Feb;124(2):135-47. Review. No abstract available.

PMID:
4886838
8.

Genomic correlates of atherosclerosis in ancient humans.

Zink A, Wann LS, Thompson RC, Keller A, Maixner F, Allam AH, Finch CE, Frohlich B, Kaplan H, Lombardi GP, Sutherland ML, Sutherland JD, Watson L, Cox SL, Miyamoto MI, Narula J, Stewart AF, Thomas GS, Krause J.

Glob Heart. 2014 Jun;9(2):203-9. doi: 10.1016/j.gheart.2014.03.2453. Review.

9.

Mummies.

Lynnerup N.

Am J Phys Anthropol. 2007;Suppl 45:162-90. Review.

PMID:
18046750
10.

Funerary artifacts, social status, and atherosclerosis in ancient peruvian mummy bundles.

Sutherland ML, Cox SL, Lombardi GP, Watson L, Valladolid CM, Finch CE, Zink A, Frohlich B, Kaplan HS, Michalik DE, Miyamoto MI, Allam AH, Thompson RC, Wann LS, Narula J, Thomas GS, Sutherland JD.

Glob Heart. 2014 Jun;9(2):219-28. doi: 10.1016/j.gheart.2014.04.004. Review.

11.

Radiological evaluation of the evisceration tradition in ancient Egyptian mummies.

Wade AD, Nelson AJ.

Homo. 2013 Feb;64(1):1-28. doi: 10.1016/j.jchb.2012.11.005. Epub 2013 Jan 3. Review.

PMID:
23290862
12.

Identifications of ancient Egyptian royal mummies from the 18th Dynasty reconsidered.

Habicht ME, Bouwman AS, Rühli FJ.

Am J Phys Anthropol. 2016 Jan;159(Suppl 61):S216-31. doi: 10.1002/ajpa.22909. Review.

PMID:
26808107
13.

Purported medical diagnoses of Pharaoh Tutankhamun, c. 1325 BC-.

Rühli FJ, Ikram S.

Homo. 2014 Feb;65(1):51-63. Review.

PMID:
24616928
14.

Computed Tomography-Detected Paleopathologies in Ancient Egyptian Mummies.

Cramer L, Brix A, Matin E, Rühli F, Hussein K.

Curr Probl Diagn Radiol. 2017 Jun 8. pii: S0363-0188(16)30131-1. doi: 10.1067/j.cpradiol.2017.06.012. [Epub ahead of print] Review.

PMID:
28823581
15.

Short Review: Magnetic Resonance Imaging of Ancient Mummies.

Rühli FJ.

Anat Rec (Hoboken). 2015 Jun;298(6):1111-5. doi: 10.1002/ar.23150. Review.

16.

The thymus: from past misconception to present recognition.

Leonidas JC.

Pediatr Radiol. 1998 May;28(5):275-82. Review.

PMID:
9569257
17.

The museum's mummies: an inside view.

Mininberg DT.

Neurosurgery. 2001 Jul;49(1):192-9. Review.

PMID:
11440442
18.

Frozen Mummies from Andean Mountaintop Shrines: Bioarchaeology and Ethnohistory of Inca Human Sacrifice.

Ceruti MC.

Biomed Res Int. 2015;2015:439428. doi: 10.1155/2015/439428. Epub 2015 Aug 6. Review.

Supplemental Content

Support Center