Format

Send to

Choose Destination
  • Showing results for a modified search because your search retrieved no results.
Pneumologie. 2015 Oct;69(10):595-607. doi: 10.1055/s-0034-1392809. Epub 2015 Oct 7.

S2k-Guideline "Prolonged Weaning".

Author information

1
Prof. Dr. Bernd Schönhofer, Pneumologie, Internistische Intensivmedizin und Schlafmedizin KRH Klinikum Siloah-Oststadt-Heidehaus, Stadionbrücke 4, 30459 Hannover; E-Mail: Bernd.Schoenhofer@t-online.de.
2
Dr. Jens Geiseler, Asklepios Fachkliniken München-Gauting, Klinik für Intensiv-, Schlaf- und Beatmungsmedizin, Robert-Koch-Allee 2, 82131 Gauting; E-Mail: j.geiseler@asklepios.com.
3
PD Dr. Dominic Dellweg, Fachkrankenhaus Kloster Grafschaft, Annostraße 1, 57392 Schmallenberg; E-Mail: d.dellweg@fkkg.de.
4
Prof. Dr. Onnen Moerer, Universitätsmedizin Göttingen, Klinik für Anästhesiologie, Zentrum Anästhesiologie, Rettungs- und Intensivmedizin, Robert-Koch Straße 40, 37075 Göttingen; E-Mail: omoerer@gwdg.de.
5
Dr. Thomas Barchfeld, Klinikum Westfalen GmbH, Knappschaftskrankenhaus Dortmund, Klinik für Pneumologie, Intensivmedizin und Schlafmedizin, Am Knappschaftskrankenhaus 1, 44309 Dortmund; E-Mail: thomas.barchfeld@klinikum-westfalen.de.
6
Dr. Hans Fuchs, Zentrum für Kinder- und Jugendmedizin, Universitätsklinikum Freiburg, Mathildenstraße 1, 79106 Freiburg; E-Mail: hans.fuchs@uniklinik-freiburg.de.
7
Dr. Ortrud Karg, Asklepios Fachkliniken München-Gauting, Leitung Medizinische Krankenhausorganisation, Robert-Koch-Allee 2, 82131 Gauting; E-Mail: o.karg@t-online.de.
8
Dr. Simone Rosseau, Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Charité - Campus Mitte, Medizinische Klinik mit Schwerpunkt Infektiologie und Pneumologie, Charitéplatz 1, 10117 Berlin; E-Mail: simone.rosseau@charite.de.
9
PD Dr. Helmut Sitter, Philips-Universität Marburg, Institut für Chirurgische Forschung, Baldingerstraße, 35033 Marburg; E-Mail: sitter@med.uni-marburg.de.
10
PD Dr. Steffen Weber-Carstens, Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Klinik für Anästhesiologie mit Schwerpunkt operative Intensivmedizin, Campus Virchow-Klinikum, Augustenburger Platz 1, 13353 Berlin; E-Mail: Steffen.Weber-Carstens@charite.de.
11
Dr. Michael Westhoff, Lungenklinik Hemer, Klinik Pneumologie I, Theo-Funccius-Straße 1, 58675 Hemer; E-Mail: michaelwesthoff.mail@t-online.de.
12
Prof. Dr. Wolfram Windisch, Kliniken der Stadt Köln gGmbH, Abteilung Pneumologie, Ostmerheimer Straße 200, 51109 Köln; E-Mail: WindischW@kliniken-koeln.de.

Abstract

All mechanically ventilated patients must be weaned from the ventilator at some stage. According to an International Consensus Conference the criteria for "prolonged weaning" are fulfilled if patients fail at least 3 weaning attempts (i. e. spontaneous breathing trial, SBT) or require more than 7 days of weaning after the first SBT. This occurs in about 15 - 20 % of patients.Because of the growing number of patients requiring prolonged weaning a German guideline on prolonged weaning has been developed. It is an initiative of the German Respiratory Society (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Pneumologie und Beatmungsmedizin e. V., DGP) in cooperation with other societies (see acknowledgement) engaged in the field chaired by the Association of Scientific and Medical Societies in Germany (Arbeitsgemeinschaft der Wissenschaftlichen Medizinischen Fachgesellschaften, AWMF).This guideline deals with the definition, epidemiology, weaning categories, underlying pathophysiology, therapeutic strategies, the weaning unit, transition to out-of-hospital ventilation and therapeutic recommendations for end of life care. This short version summarises recommendations on prolonged weaning from the German guideline.

PMID:
26444135
DOI:
10.1055/s-0034-1392809
[Indexed for MEDLINE]
Free full text

Supplemental Content

Full text links

Icon for Georg Thieme Verlag Stuttgart, New York
Loading ...
Support Center