Send to

Choose Destination
Epilepsia. 2014 Aug;55(8):1140-4. doi: 10.1111/epi.12595. Epub 2014 Jun 30.

Proposal: different types of alteration and loss of consciousness in epilepsy.

Author information

Neurology, Case Medical Center, Cleveland, Ohio, U.S.A.


There are at least five types of alterations of consciousness that occur during epileptic seizures: auras with illusions or hallucinations, dyscognitive seizures, epileptic delirium, dialeptic seizures, and epileptic coma. Each of these types of alterations of consciousness has a specific semiology and a distinct pathophysiologic mechanism. In this proposal we emphasize the need to clearly define each of these alterations/loss of consciousness and to apply this terminology in semiologic descriptions and classifications of epileptic seizures. The proposal is a consensus opinion of experienced epileptologists, and it is hoped that it will lead to systematic studies that will allow a scientific characterization of the different types of alterations/loss of consciousness described in this article.


Consciousness in epilepsy; Dialepsis; Dyscognitive seizures

[Indexed for MEDLINE]
Free full text

Supplemental Content

Full text links

Icon for Wiley
Loading ...
Support Center