Format

Send to

Choose Destination
Diagnostics (Basel). 2019 Jun 15;9(2). pii: E60. doi: 10.3390/diagnostics9020060.

Diagnostic Performance of PET or PET/CT Using 18F-FDG Labeled White Blood Cells in Infectious Diseases: A Systematic Review and a Bivariate Meta-Analysis.

Author information

1
Department of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging, Lausanne University Hospital and University of Lausanne, CH-1011 Lausanne, Switzerland. Marie-Madeleine.Meyer@chuv.ch.
2
Department of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging, Lausanne University Hospital and University of Lausanne, CH-1011 Lausanne, Switzerland. Nathalie.Testart@chuv.ch.
3
Department of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging, Lausanne University Hospital and University of Lausanne, CH-1011 Lausanne, Switzerland. Mario.Jreige@chuv.ch.
4
Department of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging, Lausanne University Hospital and University of Lausanne, CH-1011 Lausanne, Switzerland. Christel-Hermann.Kamani@chuv.ch.
5
Department of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging, Lausanne University Hospital and University of Lausanne, CH-1011 Lausanne, Switzerland. Mohammed.Moshebah@chuv.ch.
6
Department of Internal Medicine, Ente Ospedaliero Cantonale, CH-6500 Bellinzona, Switzerland. Barbara.Muoio@eoc.ch.
7
Department of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging, Lausanne University Hospital and University of Lausanne, CH-1011 Lausanne, Switzerland. Marie.Nicod-Lalonde@chuv.ch.
8
Department of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging, Lausanne University Hospital and University of Lausanne, CH-1011 Lausanne, Switzerland. Niklaus.Schaefer@chuv.ch.
9
Clinic of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging, Imaging Institute of Southern Switzerland, Ente Ospedaliero Cantonale, CH-6500 Bellinzona, Switzerland. Luca.Giovanella@eoc.ch.
10
Department of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging, Lausanne University Hospital and University of Lausanne, CH-1011 Lausanne, Switzerland. John.Prior@chuv.ch.
11
Department of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging, Lausanne University Hospital and University of Lausanne, CH-1011 Lausanne, Switzerland. Giorgio.Treglia@eoc.ch.
12
Clinic of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging, Imaging Institute of Southern Switzerland, Ente Ospedaliero Cantonale, CH-6500 Bellinzona, Switzerland. Giorgio.Treglia@eoc.ch.
13
Health Technology Assessment Unit, Ente Ospedaliero Cantonale, CH-6500 Bellinzona, Switzerland. Giorgio.Treglia@eoc.ch.

Abstract

BACKGROUND:

Diagnostic performance of positron emission tomography using white blood cells labeled with fluorine-18-fluorodeoxyglucose (18F-FDG-WBC PET or PET/CT) in patients with suspicious infectious diseases has been evaluated in several studies; however, there is no consensus about the diagnostic accuracy of this method. Therefore, a systematic review and meta-analysis was carried out on this topic.

METHODS:

A comprehensive computer literature search screening PubMed/MEDLINE, Embase and Cochrane library databases through March 2019 was performed. Pooled sensitivity, specificity, positive and negative likelihood ratios (LR+ and LR-), and diagnostic odds ratio (DOR) of 18F-FDG-WBC PET or PET/CT in patients with infectious diseases were calculated.

RESULTS:

Eight studies on the use of 18F-FDG-WBC PET or PET/CT in suspicious infectious diseases were discussed in the systematic review. The meta-analysis of seven studies (236 patients) provided these pooled results on a per patient-based analysis: sensitivity was 86.3% [95% confidence interval (95%CI) 75-92.9%], specificity 92% (95%CI 79.8-97.1%), LR+ 6.6 (95%CI: 3.1-14.1), LR- 0.2 (95%CI: 0.12-0.33), DOR 43.5 (95%CI: 12.2-155). A statistically significant heterogeneity was not detected.

CONCLUSIONS:

Despite limited literature data, 18F-FDG-WBC PET or PET/CT demonstrated a good diagnostic accuracy for the diagnosis of infectious diseases; nevertheless, larger studies are needed.

KEYWORDS:

18F-FDG; PET; infection; leukocytes; meta-analysis; white blood cells

Supplemental Content

Full text links

Icon for Multidisciplinary Digital Publishing Institute (MDPI) Icon for PubMed Central
Loading ...
Support Center