Send to

Choose Destination
MMWR Morb Mortal Wkly Rep. 1998 Nov 13;47(44):952-6.

Dengue outbreak associated with multiple serotypes--Puerto Rico, 1998.


Dengue is an acute viral disease caused by any of the four dengue virus serotypes (DEN-1, DEN-2, DEN-3, and DEN-4). The principal mosquito vector is Aedes aegypti, which has a worldwide distribution in tropical and many subtropical areas. All four virus serotypes produce a similar illness characterized by fever, headache, myalgias, arthralgias, rash, nausea and vomiting and induce life-long immunity that is specific to the infecting serotype. A small proportion of infected persons may develop the severe form of disease, dengue hemorrhagic fever/dengue shock syndrome (DHF/DSS), but with early diagnosis and proper supportive management, fatality rates may be <1%. This report summarizes an epidemic of dengue in Puerto Rico in 1998 associated with multiple dengue serotypes.

[Indexed for MEDLINE]
Free full text

Supplemental Content

Full text links

Icon for CDC - Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
Loading ...
Support Center