Send to

Choose Destination
FEBS Lett. 1994 Oct 31;354(1):1-6.

Families of zinc metalloproteases.

Author information

Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, University of Leeds, UK.


A scheme based on the zinc binding site [1992, FEBS Lett. 312, 110-114] has been extended to classify zinc metalloproteases into distinct families. The gluzincins, defined by the HEXXH motif and a glutamic acid as the third zinc ligand, include the thermolysin, endopeptidase-24.11, aminopeptidase, angiotensin converting enzyme, endopeptidase-24.15, and tetanus and botulinum neurotoxin families. The metzincins, defined by the HEXXH motif, a histidine as the third zinc ligand and a Met-turn, include the astacin, serralysin, reprolysin and matrixin families. The inverted zincin motif, HXXEH, defines the inverzincin family of insulin-degrading enzymes, the HXXE motif defines the carboxypeptidase family, and the HXH motif DD-carboxypeptidase.

[Indexed for MEDLINE]
Free full text

Supplemental Content

Full text links

Icon for Wiley
Loading ...
Support Center