Send to

Choose Destination
Cesk Fysiol. 1995 Sep;44(3):135-8.

[5-hydroxytryptamine (serotonin) receptors--nomenclature and classification of types and subtypes].

[Article in Czech]

Author information

Farmakologick├Ż ├║stav 1. LF UK, Praha.


5-HT receptors represent a superfamily of receptors with the largest known number of receptor subtypes. At present 15 receptor subtypes of three groups has been recognized. The 5-HT1 subfamily of receptors contains subtypes 5-HT1A, 5-HT1B, 5-HT1D, 5-HT1E, and 5-HT1F; activation of all of them results in the inhibition of adenylylcyclase. The subfamily of 5-HT2 contains subtypes 5-HT2A, 5-HT2B, and 5-HT2C; their activation leads to the stimulation of PLC. Finally, subfamily of miscellaneous 5-HT receptors contains subtypes 5-HT3, 5-HT4, 5-HT5, 5-HT6, and 5-HT7; some of them has been cloned, however, our knowledge on their function is still minimal. 5-HT receptors participate in many physiological functions and a disturbance in serotonergic neurotransmission might cause several types of disease. 5-HT plays an important role in depression; to cure this disease, drugs which increase levels of this neurotransmitter are used. A new drug group called Selective Serotonin Reuptake Inhibitors (SSRI) has been recently discovered. These drugs block the reuptake of 5-HT into nerve endings. There is an intensive search for new selective agonists as well as antagonists which could be use not only in the classification of receptor subtypes but which also possess certain therapeutic potential.

[Indexed for MEDLINE]

Supplemental Content

Loading ...
Support Center