Send to

Choose Destination
J Embryol Exp Morphol. 1981 Dec;66:57-80.

Staging the metamorphosis of Drosophila melanogaster.


A sequence of 51 visible changes is described during the course of metamorphosis in Drosophila melanogaster, and a series of 24 convenient stages is defined for use in the experimental analysis and exploitation of this part of the insect life cycle. The duration of each stage is estimated and times are suggested for batch collections of symphasic animals.

[Indexed for MEDLINE]
Free full text

Supplemental Content

Full text links

Icon for HighWire
Loading ...
Support Center