Send to

Choose Destination
Gene. 1984 Jan;27(1):75-86.

Ribosomal RNA genes of Trypanosoma brucei: mapping the regions specifying the six small ribosomal RNAs.


There are six small ribosomal RNAs in trypanosome ribosomes. sRNA3 and sRNA5 of Trypanosoma brucei brucei have been partially sequenced. Sequence homologies indicate that sRNA3 is 5.8S RNA and sRNA5 is 5S RNA of T. b. brucei. The regions specifying these two, and the remaining four small RNAs, have been identified within clones of rRNA genes and in the genome. Five of the small RNAs, 1, 2, 3, 4 and 6, hybridise exclusively within the major rRNA gene repeat. A map of the regions specifying these small RNAs is presented. sRNA3 (5.8S RNA) hybridises to a region corresponding to the transcribed spacer of other eukaryotes. sRNA1 hybridises to a region between sequences specifying the two large subunit RNA molecules of 2.3 kb and 1.8 kb. Sequences specifying sRNAs 2 and 4 are present near the sequence specifying sRNA1, while sRNA6 appears to be specified 3' to the sequence specifying the 1.8-kb RNA sequence. In addition regions of secondary hybridisation for small RNAs 2, 3, 4 and 6 have also been identified. Though sRNA5 (5S RNA) hybridises within the major rRNA repeat, a separate 5S RNA gene repeat with unit size of 760 bp is also present. It is 10 to 20 times more abundant than the major rRNA gene repeat.

[Indexed for MEDLINE]

Supplemental Content

Full text links

Icon for Elsevier Science
Loading ...
Support Center