Format

Send to

Choose Destination
See comment in PubMed Commons below
Am J Public Health. 1983 Dec;73(12):1401-3.

Variations in minimum licensing age and fatal motor vehicle crashes.

Abstract

The effect of differences in the legal minimum licensing age on fatal motor vehicle crashes was studied in New Jersey (age 17), Massachusetts (age 16 1/2), and Connecticut (age 16). New Jersey's 17-year-old licensing law was associated with greatly reduced fatal crash involvement. It is estimated that 65 to 85 per cent reductions in 16 year-old-driver fatal crash involvement can be expected if the licensing age is increased from 16 to 17 without increasing fatal crash rates at older ages.

PMID:
6638238
PMCID:
PMC1651252
[Indexed for MEDLINE]
Free PMC Article
PubMed Commons home

PubMed Commons

0 comments
How to join PubMed Commons

    Supplemental Content

    Full text links

    Icon for PubMed Central
    Loading ...
    Support Center