Send to

Choose Destination
Eur J Biochem. 1978 Nov 2;91(1):279-84.

Structural studies of Shigella flexneri O-antigens.


The structures of the O-antigens of all known serotypes and subserotypes of Shigella flexneri have been reinvestigated. The results support the assumption that these antigens are composed of a basic tetrasaccharide repeating unit (1), to which alpha-D-glucopyranosyl and/or O-acetyl groups are attached at different positions. Leads to 3)-beta-D-GlcNAcp-(1 leads to 2)-alpha-L-Rhap-(1 leads to 2)-alpha-L-Rhap-(1 leads to 3)-alpha-L-Rhap-(1 leads to The immunological determinants responsible for O-factors I, II, IV, V and 7, 8 contain alpha-D-gluco-pyranosyl groups, the locations of which have been determined. O-Factor 6 is due to O-acetyl groups, linked to O-2 of the 3-substituted alpha-L-rhamnopyranosyl residue in unit 1 and O-factor III seems to be due to the same groups. The chemical natures of the determinants responsible for O-factors 4 and 3, 4 are still obscure. The structural studies indicate that the immunological classification of Sh. flexneri serotypes and subserotypes, as regards these O-factors, may need revision.

[Indexed for MEDLINE]
Free full text

Supplemental Content

Full text links

Icon for Wiley
Loading ...
Support Center