Format

Send to

Choose Destination
J Clin Med. 2019 Feb 16;8(2). pii: E251. doi: 10.3390/jcm8020251.

Biobanking: Objectives, Requirements, and Future Challenges-Experiences from the Munich Vascular Biobank.

Author information

1
DZHK (German Centre for Cardiovascular Research), Munich Heart Alliance, 80636 Munich, Germany. j.pelisek@tum.de.
2
Department of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery, Technische Universität München, 81675 Munich, Germany. renate.hegenloh@tum.de.
3
Department of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery, Technische Universität München, 81675 Munich, Germany. s.bauer@tum.de.
4
Department of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery, Technische Universität München, 81675 Munich, Germany. susanne.metschl@tum.de.
5
Department of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery, Technische Universität München, 81675 Munich, Germany. jessica.pauli@tum.de.
6
Department of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery, Technische Universität München, 81675 Munich, Germany. nadiya.glukha@tum.de.
7
Department of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery, Technische Universität München, 81675 Munich, Germany. Albert.Busch@mri.tum.de.
8
Department of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery, Technische Universität München, 81675 Munich, Germany. Benedikt.Reutersberg@mri.tum.de.
9
Department of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery, Technische Universität München, 81675 Munich, Germany. Michael.Kallmayer@mri.tum.de.
10
Department of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery, Technische Universität München, 81675 Munich, Germany. Matthias.Trenner@mri.tum.de.
11
Department of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery, Technische Universität München, 81675 Munich, Germany. Heiko.Wendorff@mri.tum.de.
12
Department of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery, Technische Universität München, 81675 Munich, Germany. Pavlos.Tsantilas@mri.tum.de.
13
Department of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery, Technische Universität München, 81675 Munich, Germany. sofie.schmid@mri.tum.de.
14
Department of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery, Technische Universität München, 81675 Munich, Germany. Christoph.Knappich@mri.tum.de.
15
Department of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery, Technische Universität München, 81675 Munich, Germany. Christoph.Schaeffer@mri.tum.de.
16
Department of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery, Technische Universität München, 81675 Munich, Germany. Thomas.Stadlbauer@mri.tum.de.
17
Department of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery, Technische Universität München, 81675 Munich, Germany. Gabor.Biro@mri.tum.de.
18
Department of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery, Technische Universität München, 81675 Munich, Germany. uta.werthern@mri.tum.de.
19
Department of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery, Technische Universität München, 81675 Munich, Germany. Franz.Meisner@mri.tum.de.
20
Department of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery, Technische Universität München, 81675 Munich, Germany. Kerstin.Stoklasa@mri.tum.de.
21
Department of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery, Technische Universität München, 81675 Munich, Germany. anna-leonie.menges@mri.tum.de.
22
Department of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery, Technische Universität München, 81675 Munich, Germany. Oksana.Radu@mri.tum.de.
23
Department of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery, Technische Universität München, 81675 Munich, Germany. sabine.dallmann-sieber@mri.tum.de.
24
Department of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery, Technische Universität München, 81675 Munich, Germany. Angelos.Karlas@mri.tum.de.
25
Department of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery, Technische Universität München, 81675 Munich, Germany. Eva.Knipfer@mri.tum.de.
26
University Centre for Vascular Medicine and Department of Vascular Surgery, University Hospital Carl Gustav Carus, Dresden University of Technology, 01307 Dresden, Germany. Christian.Reeps@uniklinikum-dresden.de.
27
Department of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery, Technische Universität München, 81675 Munich, Germany. Alexander.Zimmermann@mri.tum.de.
28
DZHK (German Centre for Cardiovascular Research), Munich Heart Alliance, 80636 Munich, Germany. Lars.Maegdefessel@tum.de.
29
DZHK (German Centre for Cardiovascular Research), Munich Heart Alliance, 80636 Munich, Germany. HHEckstein@web.de.

Abstract

Collecting biological tissue samples in a biobank grants a unique opportunity to validate diagnostic and therapeutic strategies for translational and clinical research. In the present work, we provide our long-standing experience in establishing and maintaining a biobank of vascular tissue samples, including the evaluation of tissue quality, especially in formalin-fixed paraffin-embedded specimens (FFPE). Our Munich Vascular Biobank includes, thus far, vascular biomaterial from patients with high-grade carotid artery stenosis (n = 1567), peripheral arterial disease (n = 703), and abdominal aortic aneurysm (n = 481) from our Department of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery (January 2004⁻December 2018). Vascular tissue samples are continuously processed and characterized to assess tissue morphology, histological quality, cellular composition, inflammation, calcification, neovascularization, and the content of elastin and collagen fibers. Atherosclerotic plaques are further classified in accordance with the American Heart Association (AHA), and plaque stability is determined. In order to assess the quality of RNA from FFPE tissue samples over time (2009⁻2018), RNA integrity number (RIN) and the extent of RNA fragmentation were evaluated. Expression analysis was performed with two housekeeping genes-glyceraldehyde 3-phosphate dehydrogenase (GAPDH) and beta-actin (ACTB)-using TaqMan-based quantitative reverse-transcription polymerase chain reaction (qRT)-PCR. FFPE biospecimens demonstrated unaltered RNA stability over time for up to 10 years. Furthermore, we provide a protocol for processing tissue samples in our Munich Vascular Biobank. In this work, we demonstrate that biobanking is an important tool not only for scientific research but also for clinical usage and personalized medicine.

KEYWORDS:

Munich Vascular Biobank; RIN; RNA fragmentation; atherosclerosis; human vascular tissue

PMID:
30781475
DOI:
10.3390/jcm8020251
Free full text

Supplemental Content

Full text links

Icon for Multidisciplinary Digital Publishing Institute (MDPI)
Loading ...
Support Center