Format

Send to

Choose Destination
Nurse Educ Pract. 2018 Jan;28:248-256. doi: 10.1016/j.nepr.2017.10.010. Epub 2017 Oct 12.

A cross-national study to objectively evaluate the quality of diverse simulation approaches for undergraduate nursing students.

Author information

1
School of Nursing and Midwifery, Faculty of Health and Medicine, University of Newcastle, University Drive, Callaghan, Newcastle, NSW 2308, Australia. Electronic address: Ashley.Kable@newcastle.edu.au.
2
School of Nursing and Midwifery, Faculty of Health and Medicine, University of Newcastle, University Drive, Callaghan, Newcastle, NSW 2308, Australia. Electronic address: Tracy.Levett-Jones@newcastle.edu.au.
3
School of Nursing and Midwifery, Faculty of Health and Medicine, University of Newcastle, University Drive, Callaghan, Newcastle, NSW 2308, Australia. Electronic address: Carol.Arthur@newcastle.edu.au.
4
School of Nursing and Midwifery, Central Queensland University, Canning Street, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia. Electronic address: K.Reid-Searl@cqu.edu.au.
5
School of Nursing and Midwifery, Faculty of Health, Keele University, Keele, Staffordshire ST5 5BG, UK. Electronic address: M.Humphreys@keele.ac.uk.
6
School of Nursing and Midwifery, Faculty of Health, Keele University, Keele, Staffordshire ST5 5BG, UK. Electronic address: S.H.Morris@keele.ac.uk.
7
School of Nursing and Midwifery, Faculty of Health, Keele University, Keele, Staffordshire ST5 5BG, UK. Electronic address: P.N.Walsh@keele.ac.uk.
8
School of Nursing and Midwifery, Faculty of Health, Keele University, Keele, Staffordshire ST5 5BG, UK. Electronic address: N.Witton@keele.ac.uk.

Abstract

The aim of this paper is to report the results of a cross-national study that evaluated a range of simulation sessions using an observation schedule developed from evidence-based quality indicators. Observational data were collected from 17 simulation sessions conducted for undergraduate nursing students at three universities in Australia and the United Kingdom. The observation schedule contained 27 questions that rated simulation quality. Data were collected by direct observation and from video recordings of the simulation sessions. Results indicated that the highest quality scores were for provision of learning objectives prior to the simulation session (90%) and debriefing (72%). Student preparatiosn and orientation (67%) and perceived realism and fidelity (67%) were scored lower than other components of the simulation sessions. This observational study proved to be an effective strategy to identify areas of strength and those needing further development to improve simulation sessions.

KEYWORDS:

Nursing students; Observational evaluation; Quality indicators; Simulation

PMID:
29195107
DOI:
10.1016/j.nepr.2017.10.010
[Indexed for MEDLINE]

Supplemental Content

Full text links

Icon for Elsevier Science
Loading ...
Support Center