Format

Send to

Choose Destination
J Am Coll Nutr. 2017 Jan;36(1):1-8. doi: 10.1080/07315724.2015.1085815.

The Gluten-Free Diet: Can Oats and Wheat Starch Be Part of It?

Author information

1
a Eastern Virginia Medical School , Division of Pediatric Gastroenterology and Nutrition, Department of Pediatrics EVMS, and Childrens' Hospital of the King's Daughters , Norfolk , Virginia, (ret).
2
b Division of Pediatric Gastroenterology and Nutrition, Department of Pediatrics, Brody School of Medicine , East Carolina University , Greenville , North Carolina (ret).

Abstract

Objective and Conclusion: Uncertainty still exists about the use of oats and wheat starch as part of a gluten-free diet in patients with celiac disease (CD). This review should help to clarify the issues at hand. Whereas uncontaminated (from gluten/gliadin) oats and oats from cultivars not containing celiac-activating sequences of proline and glutamine can be used without risk of intestinal damage, wheat starch should not be used, unless it is free of gluten-that is, deglutinized-because even small amounts of gluten over time are able to induce small intestinal mucosal damage.

PMID:
28169607
DOI:
10.1080/07315724.2015.1085815
[Indexed for MEDLINE]

Supplemental Content

Loading ...
Support Center