Send to

Choose Destination
Arch Ophthalmol. 1989 Oct;107(10):1465-8.

A comparison of the clinical variations of the iridocorneal endothelial syndrome.

Author information

Department of Ophthalmology, Duke University Eye Center, Durham, NC 27710.


Iridocorneal endothelial syndrome is generally considered to have three major variations: Chandler's syndrome, progressive (essential) iris atrophy, and the Cogan-Reese syndrome. To better understand the clinical significance of this classification, we studied the medical records of 37 consecutive patients from our practice, comparing the presentation and course of the three subgroups. Chandler's syndrome was the most common clinical variant within this spectrum of disease (21 cases). Patients with Chandler's syndrome had more severe corneal edema than the rest of the group, while those with progressive iris atrophy (8 cases) or the Cogan-Reese syndrome (8 cases) had worse secondary glaucoma.

[Indexed for MEDLINE]

Supplemental Content

Full text links

Icon for Silverchair Information Systems
Loading ...
Support Center