Format

Send to

Choose Destination
Int J Environ Res Public Health. 2016 Dec 1;13(12). pii: E1194.

Immunogenetic Markers Definition in Latvian Patients with Lyme Borreliosis and Lyme Neuroborreliosis.

Author information

1
Institute of Food Safety, Animal Health and Environment BIOR, Riga LV-1076, Latvia. Lilija.Kovalcuka@bior.lv.
2
Institute of Food Safety, Animal Health and Environment BIOR, Riga LV-1076, Latvia. Svetlana.Cvetkova@bior.lv.
3
Institute of Food Safety, Animal Health and Environment BIOR, Riga LV-1076, Latvia. Julija.Trofimova@bior.lv.
4
Laboratory of Clinical Immunology and Immunogenetic, Riga Stradiņš University, Riga LV-1067, Latvia. Jelena.Eglite@rsu.lv.
5
Department of Family Medicine, Riga Stradiņš University, Riga LV-1067, Latvia. Sandra.Gintere@rsu.lv.
6
Centre for Disease Prevention and Control of Latvia, Riga LV-1005, Latvia. Irina.lucenko@spkc.gov.lv.
7
Department of Infectious Diseases, Medical University of Silesia, 40-055 Katowice, Poland. bgrzesik@hoga.pl.
8
Department of Infectology and Dermatology, Riga Stradiņš University, Riga LV-1006, Latvia. Ludmila.Viksna@rsu.lv.
9
Institute of Food Safety, Animal Health and Environment BIOR, Riga LV-1076, Latvia. Krumina.Angelika@inbox.lv.
10
Department of Infectology and Dermatology, Riga Stradiņš University, Riga LV-1006, Latvia. Krumina.Angelika@inbox.lv.

Abstract

The aim of this study was to determine the human leukocyte antigen (HLA)-DRB1 alleles in two groups of patients in Latvia: patients with Lyme borreliosis and patients with Lyme neuroborreliosis. The study included 216 patients with Lyme borreliosis, 29 patients with Lyme neuroborreliosis and 282 control persons. All surveyed persons were residents of Latvia. The HLA-DR genotyping was performed by polymerase chain reaction- sequence specific primer (PCR-SSP). The predisposition to the Lyme borreliosis is associated with the HLA-DRB1*07, -DRB1*17(03), -DRB1*04, -DRB1*15(02) alleles. The allele -DRB1*11(05), -DRB1*14(06) and -DRB1*13(06) were significantly more frequent in controls. In-group with Lyme neuroborreliosis differences were found for the -DRB1*07 and -DRB1*04 alleles, but only HLA-DRB1*07 allele was statistically significant after Bonferroni correction and associated with Lyme neuroborreliosis in Latvian patients.

KEYWORDS:

Borrelia burgdorferi; HLA-DRB1; Lyme borreliosis; Lyme neuroborreliosis; immunogenetic markers

PMID:
27916969
PMCID:
PMC5201335
DOI:
10.3390/ijerph13121194
[Indexed for MEDLINE]
Free PMC Article

Supplemental Content

Full text links

Icon for Multidisciplinary Digital Publishing Institute (MDPI) Icon for PubMed Central
Loading ...
Support Center