Send to

Choose Destination
Gene. 1989 Dec 21;85(1):239-42.

The consensus sequence of ice nucleation proteins from Erwinia herbicola, Pseudomonas fluorescens and Pseudomonas syringae.

Author information

DNA Plant Technology Corporation, Oakland, CA 94608.


The consensus sequence of three bacterial ice nucleation proteins was determined by extrapolation from the nucleotide (nt) sequences of three ice nucleation-encoding genes, iceE (presented here), inaW and inaZ. The three proteins possess considerable similarity, so that a preferred amino acid is shown in most positions of the consensus. The corresponding genes show considerable divergence in the third nt positions of synonymous codons, suggesting that the proteins' conserved features have been maintained by selection. Therefore, the consensus sequence is likely to represent the components of primary structure most important to the ice nucleation function.

[Indexed for MEDLINE]

Supplemental Content

Full text links

Icon for Elsevier Science
Loading ...
Support Center