Send to

Choose Destination
Nat Rev Mol Cell Biol. 2008 Mar;9(3):206-18. doi: 10.1038/nrm2346.

The Rpd3/Hda1 family of lysine deacetylases: from bacteria and yeast to mice and men.

Author information

Molecular Oncology Group, Department of Medicine, McGill University Health Center, Montréal, Québec, H3A 1A1, Canada.


Protein lysine deacetylases have a pivotal role in numerous biological processes and can be divided into the Rpd3/Hda1 and sirtuin families, each having members in diverse organisms including prokaryotes. In vertebrates, the Rpd3/Hda1 family contains 11 members, traditionally referred to as histone deacetylases (HDAC) 1-11, which are further grouped into classes I, II and IV. Whereas most class I HDACs are subunits of multiprotein nuclear complexes that are crucial for transcriptional repression and epigenetic landscaping, class II members regulate cytoplasmic processes or function as signal transducers that shuttle between the cytoplasm and the nucleus. Little is known about class IV HDAC11, although its evolutionary conservation implies a fundamental role in various organisms.

[Indexed for MEDLINE]
Free PMC Article

Supplemental Content

Full text links

Icon for Nature Publishing Group Icon for PubMed Central
Loading ...
Support Center