Send to

Choose Destination
Mol Biol Cell. 2007 Apr;18(4):1293-301. Epub 2007 Jan 31.

Diversification of function by different isoforms of conventionally shared RNA polymerase subunits.

Author information

Institute for Molecular Biology and Medicine, Université Libre de Bruxelles, 6041 Gosselies, Belgium.


Eukaryotic nuclei contain three classes of multisubunit DNA-directed RNA polymerase. At the core of each complex is a set of 12 highly conserved subunits of which five--RPB5, RPB6, RPB8, RPB10, and RPB12--are thought to be common to all three polymerase classes. Here, we show that four distantly related eukaryotic lineages (the higher plant and three protistan) have independently expanded their repertoire of RPB5 and RPB6 subunits. Using the protozoan parasite Trypanosoma brucei as a model organism, we demonstrate that these distinct RPB5 and RPB6 subunits localize to discrete subnuclear compartments and form part of different polymerase complexes. We further show that RNA interference-mediated depletion of these discrete subunits abolishes class-specific transcription and hence demonstrates complex specialization and diversification of function by conventionally shared subunit groups.

[Indexed for MEDLINE]
Free PMC Article

Supplemental Content

Full text links

Icon for Atypon Icon for PubMed Central
Loading ...
Support Center