Send to

Choose Destination
Cutis. 2004 Sep;74(3 Suppl):21-7, 32-4.

Rosacea subtypes: a treatment algorithm.

Author information

Department of Dermatology, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine, Scottsdale, Arizona, USA.


Based on various signs and symptoms, the National Rosacea Society (NRS) Expert Committee has divided the syndrome of rosacea into 4 major subtypes: erythematotelangiectatic, papulopustular (inflammatory), phymatous, and ocular. Each of the subtypes can be divided further into more specific subgroups. For example, sensory rosacea is an additional subtype that can be recognized and treated. Signs and symptoms may direct therapy. This article proposes an overview of common treatments based on subtypes. Treatments that have been validated by randomized controlled trials are reviewed. However, many excellent treatments have not been validated by double-blind randomized trials.

[Indexed for MEDLINE]

Supplemental Content

Loading ...
Support Center