Send to

Choose Destination
Nihon Rinsho. 2004 Aug;62(8):1459-64.

[Endoscopic findings of GERD].

[Article in Japanese]

Author information

Department of Gastroenterology, Toranomon Hospital.


Reflux esophagitis is divided into four grades, i.e. Grade A to D, according to the severity of its mucosal break in the endoscopic classification of reflux esophagitis (Los Angels classification). In our study, only 14.3% of patients with heartburn had Grade A to D during endoscopy. This means that Los Angels classification is insufficient at least in Japan. Then we have claimed that Grade M and Grade N are to be included in this classification, which mean minimal change and no lesions, respectively.

[Indexed for MEDLINE]

Supplemental Content

Loading ...
Support Center