Send to

Choose Destination
Folia Morphol (Warsz). 2000;59(2):85-90.

Types of neurons of the subthalamic nucleus and zona incerta in the guinea pig--Nissl and Golgi study.

Author information

Department of Comparative Anatomy, Warmia and Masuria University, Olsztyn, Poland.


The studies were carried out on the subthalamus of adult guinea pigs. Golgi impregnation, Nissl and Kl├╝ver-Barrera methods were used for the study. In Nissl stained sections the subthalamic neuronal population consists of multipolar, fusiform, oval and pear-shaped perikarya. In two studied areas: nucleus subthalamicus (STN) and zona incerta (ZI) three types of neurons were distinguished. Type I, multipolar neurons with quadrangular, triangular or oval perikarya. They have 3-6 primary dendrites which run slightly wavy and spread out in all directions. Type II, bipolar neurons with fusiform or semilunar perikarya, they have two primary dendrites. Type III, pear-shaped neurons with 1-2 dendritic trunks arising from one pole of the neuron. In all types of neurons axon emerges from the perikaryon or initial segment of a dendritic trunk and can be followed at a maximum distance of about 50 microns.

[Indexed for MEDLINE]

Supplemental Content

Loading ...
Support Center