U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government


Send to:

Choose Destination


The part of CENTRAL NERVOUS SYSTEM that is contained within the skull (CRANIUM). Arising from the NEURAL TUBE, the embryonic brain is comprised of three major parts including PROSENCEPHALON (the forebrain); MESENCEPHALON (the midbrain); and RHOMBENCEPHALON (the hindbrain). The developed brain consists of CEREBRUM; CEREBELLUM; and other structures in the BRAIN STEM.

Year introduced: /enzymology was BRAIN ENZYMOLOGY 1964-1965

PubMed search builder options


Tree Number(s): A08.186.211

MeSH Unique ID: D001921

Entry Terms:

  • Encephalon

See Also:

Supplemental Content

Loading ...