NCBI Bookshelf. A service of the National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health.

National Research Council (US) Committee on Competing in the 21st Century: Best Practice in State and Regional Innovation Initiatives. Building Hawaii's Innovation Economy: Summary of a Symposium. Washington (DC): National Academies Press (US); 2012.

Cover of Building Hawaii's Innovation Economy

Building Hawaii's Innovation Economy: Summary of a Symposium.

Show details

STEP Board and Staff

For the National Research Council (NRC), this project was overseen by the Board on Science, Technology, and Economic Policy (STEP), a standing board of the NRC established by the National Academies of Sciences and Engineering and the Institute of Medicine in 1991. The mandate of the STEP Board is to advise federal, state, and local governments and inform the public about economic and related public policies to promote the creation, diffusion, and application of new scientific and technical knowledge to enhance the productivity and competitiveness of the U.S. economy and foster economic prosperity for all Americans. The STEP board and its committees marshal research and the expertise of scholars, industrial managers, investors, and former public officials in a wide range of policy areas that affect the speed and direction of scientific and technological change and their contributions to the growth of the U.S. and global economies. Results are communicated through reports, conferences, workshops, briefings and electronic media subject to the procedures of the National Academies to ensure their authoritativeness, independence, and objectivity. The members of the STEP Board* and the NRC staff are listed below:

Paul L. Joskow, Chair


Alfred P. Sloan Foundation

Lewis W. Coleman

President & CFO

DreamWorks Animation

John Donovan

Chief Technology Officer


Alan M. Garber (IOM)

Henry J. Kaiser, Jr. Professor

Professor of Medicine

Director, Center for Primary Care and Outcomes Research

Stanford University

Ralph E. Gomory (NAS/NAE)

Research Professor

Stern School of Business

New York University


President Emeritus

Alfred P. Sloan Foundation

Mary L. Good (NAE)

Donaghey University Professor

Dean, Donaghey College of Engineering and Information Technology

University of Arkansas at Little Rock

Richard K. Lester

Japan Steel Industry Professor

Head, Department of Nuclear Science and Engineering

Faculty Co-chair and Founding Director, Industrial Performance Center

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Amory Houghton, Jr.

Former Member of Congress

William F. Meehan III

Lecturer in Strategic Management

Raccoon Partners Lecturer in Management

Stanford University


Director Emeritus

McKinsey and Co., Inc.

David T. Morgenthaler

Founding Partner

Morgenthaler Ventures

Joseph P. Newhouse (IOM)

John D. MacArthur Professor of Health Policy and Management

Harvard Medical School

Edward E. Penhoet (IOM)


Alta Partners

Arati Prabhakar

General Partner

U.S. Venture Partners

William J. Raduchel


Opera Software ASA

Laura D’Andrea Tyson

S.K. and Angela Chan Professor of Global Management

Haas School of Business

University of California, Berkeley

Hal R. Varian

Chief Economist

Google, Inc.

Alan Wm. Wolff

Of Counsel

Dewey & LeBoeuf LLP


Stephen A. Merrill

Executive Director

Adnan Aslam

Christine Mirzayan Science & Technology Policy Graduate Fellow

Paul T. Beaton

Program Officer

McAlister T. Clabaugh

Program Officer

Charles W. Wessner

Program Director

Aqila Coulthurst

Program Coordinator

David S. Dawson

Senior Program Assistant

David E. Dierksheide

Program Officer

Sujai J. Shivakumar

Senior Program Officer



As of January 2011.

Copyright © 2012, National Academy of Sciences.
Bookshelf ID: NBK99289


  • PubReader
  • Print View
  • Cite this Page
  • PDF version of this title (2.4M)

Recent Activity

Your browsing activity is empty.

Activity recording is turned off.

Turn recording back on

See more...