NCBI Bookshelf. A service of the National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health.

Institute of Medicine (US) Committee on Health Research and the Privacy of Health Information: The HIPAA Privacy Rule; Nass SJ, Levit LA, Gostin LO, editors. Beyond the HIPAA Privacy Rule: Enhancing Privacy, Improving Health Through Research. Washington (DC): National Academies Press (US); 2009.

Cover of Beyond the HIPAA Privacy Rule

Beyond the HIPAA Privacy Rule: Enhancing Privacy, Improving Health Through Research.

Show details

Committee on Health Research and the Privacy of Health Information: The HIPAA Privacy Rule

LAWRENCE O. GOSTIN (Chair), Professor of Law, Georgetown University Law Center, Washington, DC

PAUL APPELBAUM, Professor of Psychiatry, Medicine, and Law, Director, Division of Psychiatry, Law, and Ethics, Columbia University Psychiatric Institute, New York, NY

ELIZABETH BEATTIE, Professor, School of Nursing, Faculty of Health Sciences, The Queensland University of Technology, Queensland, Australia

MARC BOUTIN, Vice President of Policy, Development, and Advocacy, National Health Council, Washington, DC

THOMAS W. CROGHAN, Senior Fellow, Mathematica Policy Research, Inc., Washington, DC

STANLEY W. CROSLEY, Chief Privacy Officer, Eli Lilly and Company, Law Division, Indianapolis, IN

SANDRA J. HORNING, Professor of Medicine/Oncology, Stanford School of Medicine, Palo Alto, CA

JAMES S. JACKSON, Director, Institute for Social Research, University of Michigan–Ann Arbor

MARY BETH JOUBLANC, Chief Privacy Officer, State of Arizona, Arizona Government Technology Agency, Phoenix, AZ

BERNARD LO, Professor of Medicine, Director, Program in Medical Ethics, University of California–San Francisco

ANDREW F. NELSON, Executive Director, HealthPartners Research Foundation, Minneapolis, MN

MARC ROTENBERG, President, Electronic Privacy Information Center, Washington, DC

WENDY VISSCHER, Director, Office of Research Protection, RTI International, Research Triangle Park, NC

FRED WRIGHT, Associate Chief of Staff for Research, VA Connecticut Healthcare System, New Haven, CT

CLYDE W. YANCY, Medical Director, Baylor Heart and Vascular Institute, Baylor University Medical Center, Dallas, TX


SARAH M. GREENE, Group Health Center for Health Studies, Seattle, WA

DAVID HELMS, President and CEO, AcademyHealth, Washington, DC

ROBERTA NESS, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA

JOY PRITTS, Health Policy Institute, Georgetown University, Washington, DC

ED WAGNER, Director of the W.A. MacColl Institute for Healthcare Innovation, Center for Health Studies, Group Health Cooperative of Puget Sound, Seattle, WA

ALAN WESTIN, Privacy Consulting Group, Teaneck, NJ

Study Staff

SHARYL NASS, Study Director and Senior Program Officer

LAURA LEVIT, Associate Program Officer (Christine Mirzayan Science and Technology Policy Graduate Fellow, December 2006 to March 2007)

CATHERINE REYES, Christine Mirzayan Science and Technology Policy Graduate Fellow (September 2006 to November 2006)

MARY ANN PRYOR, Senior Program Assistant (until August 2007)

MICHAEL PARK, Senior Program Assistant (from September 2007)

ROGER HERDMAN, Director, Board on Health Care Services

ANDREW POPE, Director, Board on Health Sciences Policy

JULIE WILTSHIRE, Financial Associate (until July 2007)

PATRICK BURKE, Financial Associate (from July 2007)

Copyright © 2009, National Academy of Sciences.
Bookshelf ID: NBK9580


  • PubReader
  • Print View
  • Cite this Page
  • PDF version of this title (1.6M)
  • Disable Glossary Links

Recent Activity

Your browsing activity is empty.

Activity recording is turned off.

Turn recording back on

See more...