NCBI Bookshelf. A service of the National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health.

National Research Council (US) Committee on A Framework for Developing a New Taxonomy of Disease. Toward Precision Medicine: Building a Knowledge Network for Biomedical Research and a New Taxonomy of Disease. Washington (DC): National Academies Press (US); 2011.

Cover of Toward Precision Medicine

Toward Precision Medicine: Building a Knowledge Network for Biomedical Research and a New Taxonomy of Disease.

Show details


This report has been reviewed in draft form by individuals chosen for their diverse perspectives and technical expertise in accordance with procedures approved by the National Research Council’s Report Review Committee. The purpose of this independent review is to provide candid and critical comments that will assist the institution in making its published report as sound as possible and to ensure that the report meets institutional standards of objectivity, evidence, and responsiveness to the study charge. The review comments and draft manuscript remain confidential to protect the integrity of the deliberative process.

We thank the following individuals for their review of this report:

  • Leslie Biesecker, National Institutes of Health
  • Martin J. Blaser, New York University Langone Medical Center
  • Wylie Burke, University of Washington
  • Christopher G. Chute, University of Minnesota and Mayo Clinic
  • Sean Eddy, Howard Hughes Medical Institute Janelia Farm Research
  • Elaine Jaffe, National Cancer Institute
  • Brian J. Kelly, Aetna
  • Chaitan Khosla, Stanford University
  • Daniel R. Masys, University of Washington
  • Stephen M. Schwartz, University of Washington

Although the reviewers listed above have provided many constructive comments and suggestions, they were not asked to endorse the conclusions or recommendations, nor did they see the final draft of the report before its release. The review of the report was overseen by Dennis Ausiello, Harvard Medical School, Massachusetts General Hospital and Partners Healthcare, and Queta Bond, Burroughs Wellcome Fund. Appointed by the National Research Council, they were responsible for making certain that an independent examination of this report was carried out in accordance with institutional procedures and that all review comments were carefully considered. Responsibility for the final content of the report rests entirely with the authoring committee and the institution.

We thank Dr. Theresa O’Brien, Director of Research Strategy and Special Projects, UCSF School of Medicine, for thoughtful suggestions and support to the Committee and NRC staff, throughout this study process. We thank Steve Olson for his writing and editorial assistance.

We are grateful to those who attended and participated in the workshop “Toward a New Taxonomy of Disease,” held March 1 and 2, 2011 (Appendix C) and those who discussed data sharing with the Committee during the course of this study. These individuals, named below, were generous with their time, expertise, and ideas, and their insights were helpful to the Committee’s work:

  • Charles Baum, Vice President of Global R&D, Pfizer
  • Leslie Biesecker, Chief & Senior Investigator, Genetic Disease Research Branch, NHGRI
  • Martin Blaser, Frederick H. King Professor of Internal Medicine and Chairman of the Department of Medicine, NYU School of Medicine
  • John Brownstein, Instructor, Harvard Medical School
  • Atul Butte, Chief and Assistant Professor, Division of Systems Medicine, Department of Pediatrics, Stanford
  • Lewis Cantley, Chief, Division of Signal Transduction, Harvard Medical School
  • Alta Charo, Professor of Law and Bioethics, University of Wisconsin Law School
  • Christopher G. Chute, Professor of Medical Informatics, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine
  • Andrew Conrad, Chief Scientific Officer, LabCorp
  • Elissa Epel, Associate Professor in Residence, Department of Psychiatry at University of California, San Francisco
  • Kathy Giusti, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Multiple Myeloma Research Foundation (MMRF)
  • John Glaser, Chief Executive Officer, Health Services Business Unit, Siemens Health Services
  • Corey Goodman, Managing Director and Co-Founder, venBio
  • Brian J. Kelly, Head of Informatics and Strategic Alignment, Aetna
  • Debra Lappin, President, Council for American Medical Innovation
  • Jason Lieb, Professor, Department of Biology, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Klaus Lindpaintner, Vice President of R&D, Strategic Diagnostics Inc.
  • Jon Lorsch, Professor of Biophysics and Biophysical Chemistry, Johns Hopkins University, School of Medicine
  • Daniel Masys, Chair of the Department of Biomedical Informatics, Vanderbilt University Medical Center
  • William Pao, Director, Personalized Cancer Medicine at the Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center
  • Erin Ramos, Epidemiologist, National Human Genome Research Institute
  • Neil Risch, Institute for Human Genetics, University of California, San Francisco
  • Catherine Schaefer, Kaiser Permanente Northern California Division of Research
  • Ingrid Scheffer, Professor of Paediatric Neurology Research, University of Melbourne
  • Sanford Schwartz, Professor of Medicine, Health Care Management, and Economics, University of Pennsylvania
  • Janet Woodcock, Director, Center for Drug Evaluation and Research at the U.S. Food and Drug Administration
  • Helmut Zarbl, University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey-Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, Environmental & Occupational Medicine, Rutgers University
Copyright © 2011, National Academy of Sciences.
Bookshelf ID: NBK92149


Recent Activity

Your browsing activity is empty.

Activity recording is turned off.

Turn recording back on

See more...