NCBI Bookshelf. A service of the National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health.

National Academy of Sciences (US), National Academy of Engineering (US), and Institute of Medicine (US) Committee on Underrepresented Groups and the Expansion of the Science and Engineering Workforce Pipeline. Expanding Underrepresented Minority Participation. Washington (DC): National Academies Press (US); 2011.

Cover of Expanding Underrepresented Minority Participation

Expanding Underrepresented Minority Participation.

Show details

Committee on Underrepresented Groups and the Expansion of the Science and Engineering Workforce Pipeline

Freeman A. Hrabowski, III, Chair, President, University of Maryland Baltimore County

James H. Ammons, President, Florida A&M University

Sandra Begay-Campbell, Principal Member of the Technical Staff, Sandia National Laboratories

Beatriz Chu Clewell, Principal Research Associate, The Urban Institute

Nancy S. Grasmick, State Superintendent of Schools, Maryland State Department of Education

Carlos G. Gutierrez, Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry, California State University-Los Angeles

Evelynn M. Hammonds, Dean of Harvard College and Barbara Gutmann Rosenkrantz Professor of the History of Science and of African and African American Studies, Harvard University

Wesley L. Harris (NAE), Associate Provost for Faculty Equity and Charles Stark Draper Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Sylvia Hurtado, Professor and Director, Higher Education Research Institute, University of California Los Angeles

James S. Jackson (IOM), Director, Institute for Social Research, University of Michigan

Shirley Mathis McBay, President, Quality Education for Minorities Network

Diana Natalicio, President, University of Texas El Paso

John C. Nemeth, Vice President, Oak Ridge Associated Universities

Eduardo J. Padrón, President, Miami Dade College

Willie Pearson, Professor of Sociology, Georgia Institute of Technology

Sidney A. Ribeau, President, Howard University

John Brooks Slaughter (NAE), President and CEO, National Action Council for Minorities in Engineering

Richard Tapia (NAE), University Professor, Maxfield-Oshman Professor in Engineering, Director of the Center for Excellence and Equity in Education, and Associate Director of Graduate Studies, Rice University

Lydia Villa-Komaroff, President and CEO, Cytonome, Inc.

Linda Sue Warner, President, Haskell Indian Nations University


Peter H. Henderson, Co-Study Director

Earnestine Psalmonds, Co-Study Director*

Neeraj P. Gorkhaly, Research Associate



Earnestine Psalmonds is a visiting scholar from the National Science Foundation (NSF). This work was supported by the NSF, but findings, conclusions, or recommendations expressed are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the views of the NSF.

Copyright © 2011, National Academy of Sciences.
Bookshelf ID: NBK83375


  • PubReader
  • Print View
  • Cite this Page
  • PDF version of this title (2.6M)

Recent Activity

Your browsing activity is empty.

Activity recording is turned off.

Turn recording back on

See more...