NCBI Bookshelf. A service of the National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health.

Institute of Medicine (US) Roundtable on Value & Science-Driven Health Care; Yong PL, Olsen LA, McGinnis JM, editors. Value in Health Care: Accounting for Cost, Quality, Safety, Outcomes, and Innovation. Washington (DC): National Academies Press (US); 2010.

Cover of Value in Health Care

Value in Health Care: Accounting for Cost, Quality, Safety, Outcomes, and Innovation.

Show details

Roundtable on Value & Science-Driven Health Care1

Denis A. Cortese (Chair), Emeritus President and Chief Executive Officer, Mayo Clinic; Foundation Professor, ASU

David Blumenthal, National Coordinator, Office of the National Coordinator for Health IT (ex officio)

Bruce G. Bodaken, Chairman, President, and Chief Executive Officer, Blue Shield of California

David R. Brennan, Chief Executive Officer, AstraZeneca PLC

Paul Chew, Chief Science Officer and CMO, sanofi-aventis U.S., Inc.

Carolyn M. Clancy, Director, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (ex officio)

Francis Collins, Director, National Institutes of Health (designee: Susan Shurin) (ex officio)

Michael J. Critelli, Former Executive Chairman, Pitney Bowes, Inc.

Helen Darling, President, National Business Group on Health

Thomas R. Frieden, Director, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (ex officio)

Gary L. Gottlieb, President and CEO, Partners HealthCare System

James A. Guest, President, Consumers Union

George C. Halvorson, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Kaiser Permanente

Margaret A. Hamburg, Commissioner, Food and Drug Administration (ex officio)

Carmen Hooker Odom, President, Milbank Memorial Fund

Ardis Hoven, Professor of Medicine, University of Kentucky; Chair-elect, American Medical Association

Brent James, Chief Quality Officer and Executive Director, Institute for Health Care Delivery Research, Intermountain Healthcare

Michael M. E. Johns, Chancellor, Emory University

Craig Jones, Director, Vermont Blueprint for Health

Cato T. Laurencin, Vice President for Health Affairs, Dean of the School of Medicine, U. of Connecticut

Stephen P. MacMillan, President and Chief Executive Officer, Stryker

Mark B. McClellan, Director, Engelberg Center for Healthcare Reform, The Brookings Institution

Sheri S. McCoy, Worldwide Chairman, Johnson & Johnson Pharmaceuticals Group

Mary D. Naylor, Professor and Director of Center for Transitions in Health, University of Pennsylvania

Peter Neupert, Corporate Vice President, Health Solutions Group, Microsoft Corporation

Nancy H. Nielsen, Past President, American Medical Association

William D. Novelli, Former CEO, AARP; Professor, Georgetown University

Jonathan B. Perlin, Chief Medical Officer and President, Clinical Services, HCA, Inc.

Robert A. Petzel, Under Secretary, Veterans Health Administration (designee: Joel Kupersmith) (ex officio)

Richard Platt, Professor and Chair, Harvard Medical School and Harvard Pilgrim Health Care

John C. Rother, Group Executive Officer, AARP

John W. Rowe, Professor, Mailman School of Public Health, Columbia University

Mark D. Smith, President and CEO, California HealthCare Foundation

Reed D. Tuckson, Executive VP and Chief of Medical Affairs, UnitedHealth Group

Frances M. Visco, President, National Breast Cancer Coalition

Administrator, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (ex officio)

Assistant Secretary for Health Affairs, Department of Defense (ex officio)

Planning Committee

Michael E. Chernew, Harvard Medical School

Ezekiel J. Emanuel, National Institutes of Health

Arthur Garson, Jr., University of Virginia School of Medicine

Samuel R. Nussbaum, Wellpoint

John C. Rother, AARP

Karen L. Smith, AstraZeneca

Roundtable Staff

Christie Bell, Financial Associate

Patrick Burke, Financial Associate (through December 2009)

Andrea Cohen, Financial Associate (through December 2008)

Kiran Gupta, Research Assistant

J. Michael McGinnis, Senior Scholar and Executive Director

LeighAnne Olsen, Program Officer

Daniel O’Neill, Research Associate (through January 2009)

Kate Sharaf, Fellow (through November 2008)

Ruth Strommen, Intern

Kate Vasconi, Program Assistant

Pierre L. Yong, Program Officer

Allen Zheng, Intern

Catherine Zweig, Senior Program Assistant



Formerly the Roundtable on Evidence-Based Medicine. IOM forums and roundtables do not issue, review, or approve individual documents. The responsibility for the published workshop summary rests with the workshop rapporteur and the institution.

Copyright © 2010, National Academy of Sciences.
Bookshelf ID: NBK50917


  • PubReader
  • Print View
  • Cite this Page
  • PDF version of this title (2.2M)

Recent Activity

Your browsing activity is empty.

Activity recording is turned off.

Turn recording back on

See more...