NCBI Bookshelf. A service of the National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health.

National Research Council (US) Committee to Examine the Methodology for the Assessment of Research-Doctorate Programs; Ostriker JP, Kuh CV, editors. Assessing Research-Doctorate Programs: A Methodology Study. Washington (DC): National Academies Press (US); 2003.

Cover of Assessing Research-Doctorate Programs

Assessing Research-Doctorate Programs: A Methodology Study.

Show details


This study has benefited enormously from the advice of countless students, faculty, administrators, and researchers in government and industry who have sent us e-mail, especially concerning the taxonomy and our questionnaires. The Council of Graduate Schools, the National Association of State Universities and Land Grant Colleges, the National Academy of Sciences, the GREAT Group of the American Association of Medical Colleges, and the Association of American Universities all invited us to their meetings when the study was in its early stages and helped us to formulate the major issues the Committee needed to address. Nancy Diamond, Ron Ehrenberg, and the late Hugh Graham also were helpful to us in the early stages.

We owe an immense debt to our pilot site universities and their graduate deans, institutional researchers, and faculty who helped us differentiate between the desirable and the feasible. These are: Florida State University, Michigan State University, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, The University of California-San Francisco, The University of Maryland, The University of Southern California, The University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, and Yale University.

We are grateful to the National Research Council Staff: Herman Alvarado, Teresa Blair, Edvin Hernandez, Evelyn Simeon, and Elizabeth Scott. They made our meetings run smoothly, helped produce the report, and amassed the data without which the Committee would not have been able to do its work. Irene Renda at Princeton University and Jeanette Gilbert at the University of Cambridge also assisted these efforts by ably supporting the Committee's Chair.

This report has been reviewed in draft form by individuals chosen for their diverse perspectives and technical expertise, in accordance with procedures approved by the NRC's Report Review Committee. The purpose of this independent review is to provide candid and critical comments that will assist the institution in making its published report as sound as possible and to ensure that the report meets institutional standards for objectivity, evidence, and responsiveness to the study charge. The review comments and draft manuscript remain confidential to protect the integrity of the deliberative process.

We wish to thank the following individuals for their review of this report: Leslie Berlowitz, American Academy of Arts and Sciences; Terrance Cooper, University of Tennessee; Nancy Diamond, Pennsylvania State University; Edward Hiler, Texas A&M University; Louis Lanzerotti, Bell Laboratories, Lucent Technologies; Edward Lazowska, University of Washington; Brendan Maher, Harvard University; Risa Palm, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill; C. Kumar Patel, Pranalytica, Inc.; Gerald Sonnenfeld, Morehouse School of Medicine; Stephen Stigler, University of Chicago; Kathleen Taylor (Retired), General Motors Corporation; E. Garrison Walters, Ohio Board of Regents; Pauline Yu, American Council of Learned Societies; and James Zuiches, Washington State University.

Although the reviewers listed above have provided many constructive comments and suggestions, they were not asked to endorse the conclusions or recommendations, nor did they see the final draft of the report before its release. The review of this report was overseen by Ronald Ehrenberg, Cornell University, and Lyle Jones, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill. Appointed by the National Research Council, they were responsible for making certain that an independent examination of this report was carried out in accordance with institutional procedures and that all review comments were carefully considered. Responsibility for the final content of this report rests entirely with the authoring committee and the institution.

Finally, we wish to thank our funders: the National Institutes of Health, the National Science Foundation, the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, and the United States Department of Agriculture. Without their support, both financial and conceptual, this report would not have been written.

Copyright © 2003, National Academy of Sciences.
Bookshelf ID: NBK43459


  • PubReader
  • Print View
  • Cite this Page
  • PDF version of this title (7.5M)

Recent Activity

Your browsing activity is empty.

Activity recording is turned off.

Turn recording back on

See more...