NCBI Bookshelf. A service of the National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health.

National Research Council (US) Committee on Recognition and Alleviation of Distress in Laboratory Animals. Recognition and Alleviation of Distress in Laboratory Animals. Washington (DC): National Academies Press (US); 2008.

Cover of Recognition and Alleviation of Distress in Laboratory Animals

Recognition and Alleviation of Distress in Laboratory Animals.

Show details

Institute for Laboratory Animal Research Council


Stephen W. Barthold (Chair), University of California, Center for Comparative Medicine, Davis, California

Kathryn A. Bayne, Association for Assessment and Accreditation of Laboratory Animal Care International, Waikoloa, Hawaii

Myrtle A. Davis, Lilly Research Laboratories, Greenfield, Indiana

Jeffrey I. Everitt, GlaxoSmithKline Research and Development, Comparative Medicine and Investigator Support, Research Triangle Park, North Carolina

Michael F. Festing, Leicestershire, United Kingdom (to June 2006)

James G. Fox, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Division of Comparative Medicine, Cambridge, Massachusetts

Nelson L. Garnett, Consultant, Laboratory Animal Care and Use Programs, Dickerson, Maryland

Estelle B. Gauda, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Johns Hopkins Hospital, Baltimore, Maryland

Coenraad F.M. Hendriksen, Netherlands Vaccine Institute, Bilthoven, The Netherlands

Jon H. Kaas, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tennessee

Joseph W. Kemnitz, University of Wisconsin, Primate Research Center, Madison, Wisconsin

Judy A. MacArthur Clark, (formerly) Pfizer Global R&D, Groton, Connecticut

Leticia V. Medina, Abbott Laboratories, Abbott Park, Illinois

Bernard E. Rollin, Colorado State University, Department of Animal Sciences, Fort Collins, Colorado

Abigail L. Smith, University of Pennsylvania, School of Veterinary Medicine, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Stephen A. Smith, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, Department of Biomedical Sciences and Pathobiology, Blacksburg, Virginia

Peter Theran, Massachusetts Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals, Boston, Massachusetts (to January 2007)

James E. Womack, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas


Joanne Zurlo, Director

Lida Anestidou, Program Officer

Kathleen Beil, Administrative Coordinator

Cameron Fletcher, Managing Editor, ILAR Journal

Rhonda Haycraft, Senior Project Assistant

Copyright © 2008, National Academy of Sciences.
Bookshelf ID: NBK4034


  • PubReader
  • Print View
  • Cite this Page
  • PDF version of this title (1.2M)

In this Page

Recent Activity

Your browsing activity is empty.

Activity recording is turned off.

Turn recording back on

See more...