NCBI Bookshelf. A service of the National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health.

Committee on the Diagnostic Criteria for Myalgic Encephalomyelitis/Chronic Fatigue Syndrome; Board on the Health of Select Populations; Institute of Medicine. Beyond Myalgic Encephalomyelitis/Chronic Fatigue Syndrome: Redefining an Illness. Washington (DC): National Academies Press (US); 2015 Feb 10.

Cover of Beyond Myalgic Encephalomyelitis/Chronic Fatigue Syndrome

Beyond Myalgic Encephalomyelitis/Chronic Fatigue Syndrome: Redefining an Illness.

Show details


  • ELLEN WRIGHT CLAYTON (Chair), Center for Biomedical Ethics and Society, Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Nashville, TN
  • MARGARITA ALEGRÍA, Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA
  • LUCINDA BATEMAN, Fatigue Consultation Clinic, Salt Lake City, UT
  • LILY CHU, International Association for Chronic Fatigue Syndrome/Myalgic Encephalomyelitis, Chicago, IL; Stanford University ME/CFS Initiative, Stanford, CA
  • CHARLES S. CLEELAND, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston
  • RONALD W. DAVIS, Stanford University School of Medicine, Stanford, CA
  • BETTY DIAMOND, The Feinstein Institute for Medical Research, Manhasset, NY
  • THEODORE G. GANIATS, University of Miami, FL
  • BETSY KELLER, Ithaca College, Ithaca, NY
  • NANCY KLIMAS, Nova Southeastern University, Miami, FL
  • A. MARTIN LERNER, Oakland University, William Beaumont School of Medicine, Rochester, MI
  • CYNTHIA MULROW, University of Texas Health Science Center, San Antonio
  • BENJAMIN H. NATELSON, Mount Sinai Beth Israel, New York, NY
  • PETER ROWE, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD
  • MICHAEL SHELANSKI, Columbia University, New York, NY


  • RONA BRIERE, Briere Associates Inc., Felton, PA
  • RENÉ GONIN, Westat, Inc., Rockville, MD
  • TROY PETENBRINK, Caduceus Marketing, Washington, DC

IOM Staff

  • CARMEN C. MUNDACA-SHAH, Study Director
  • KATE MECK, Associate Program Officer (until September 2014)
  • JONATHAN SCHMELZER, Research Associate (from September 2014)
  • ADRIANA MOYA, Senior Program Assistant (until May 2014)
  • SULVIA DOJA, Senior Program Assistant (from May 2014)
  • DORIS ROMERO, Financial Associate
  • FREDERICK ERDTMANN, Director, Board on the Health of Select Populations
Copyright 2015 by the National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Bookshelf ID: NBK284899


  • PubReader
  • Print View
  • Cite this Page
  • PDF version of this title (1.4M)

Recent Activity

Your browsing activity is empty.

Activity recording is turned off.

Turn recording back on

See more...