NCBI Bookshelf. A service of the National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health.

Institute of Medicine (US) Committee on Conflict of Interest in Medical Research, Education, and Practice; Lo B, Field MJ, editors. Conflict of Interest in Medical Research, Education, and Practice. Washington (DC): National Academies Press (US); 2009.

Cover of Conflict of Interest in Medical Research, Education, and Practice

Conflict of Interest in Medical Research, Education, and Practice.

Show details


In preparing this report, the committee and project staff benefited greatly from the assistance and expertise of many individuals and groups. Important information and insights came from four public meetings that the committee organized to collect information and perspectives from a range of academic, professional, consumer, patient, and other organizations and individuals. A number of speakers at these meetings also shared their knowledge at other times during the course of the study. Appendix A includes the agendas of the public meetings and a list of organizations that submitted written statements of views.

The committee appreciates the contributions of the authors of the background papers that appear as Appendix C (Michael Davis at Illinois Institute of Technology and Josephine Johnston at the Hastings Center) and Appendix D (Jason Dana at University of Pennsylvania). Our project officer at the National Institutes of Health, Walter Schaffer, was always helpful in getting our questions answered. We also called on Daniel Wolfson at the American Board of Internal Medicine Foundation for information. In addition, Ariel Winter of the Medicare Payment Advisory Commission helped by answering questions about the commission’s work. Mary Nix at the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality provided data from the National Guidelines Clearinghouse that we could not obtain online. An undoubtedly incomplete list of others who assisted the committee’s work includes David Atkins, James Bernat, Carol Blum, David Blumenthal, Deborah Briggs, Laura Brockway-Lunardi, Robert Campbell, Roger Chou, Vivian Coates, Allan Coukel, Bette Crigger, Susan Ehringhaus, Brian Eigel, Susan Gilbert, Marianne Hockema, Cato Laurencin, Jeffrey Leiden, Martha Liggett, Kathleen Lohr, Peter Lurie, Charlene May, Jennifer Padberg, James Severson, Mark Sommerfeld, Gabriel Sullivan, and Myrl Weinberg.

The committee and project staff also appreciate the work of copy editor Michael Hayes. Within the National Academies, we particularly acknowledge the assistance of Clyde Behney, Judy Estep, Robert Giffin, Janice Mehler, Abbey Meltzer, Amy Packman, Donna Randall, Bronwyn Schrecker, and Jackie Turner.

Copyright © 2009, National Academy of Sciences.
Bookshelf ID: NBK22927


  • PubReader
  • Print View
  • Cite this Page
  • PDF version of this title (2.2M)

Recent Activity

Your browsing activity is empty.

Activity recording is turned off.

Turn recording back on

See more...