Publication Details

N. Leigh Anderson (Chair) is chief executive officer at the Plasma Proteome Institute (PPI) in Washington, DC. He earned a PhD in molecular biology from Cambridge University, England. Before founding PPI, Dr. Anderson was chief scientific officer at the Large Scale Biology Corporation (LSBC), whose proteomics division he founded. At LSBC, he developed the first automated two-dimensional electrophoresis technology platform for proteomics research, including the measurement of large numbers of proteins in human serum and tissues, and pioneered an array of applications in drug discovery, toxicology, and surrogate markers. Dr. Anderson’s research interests have included the investigation of gene-expression effects of pharmaceutical agents, both in vivo and in vitro, and the development of systematic databases describing the regulation of complex gene-expression systems. Other interests include mass spectrometry, bioterrorism detection and response, and conceptual development of drug-discovery systems.

James S. Bus is director of external technology at Dow Chemical Company. He received his PhD in pharmacology from Michigan State University in 1975. His research interests include the mechanism of super-oxide radical-mediated paraquat toxicity, the relationship between benzene metabolism and toxicity, metabolic pathways as defense mechanisms against toxicant exposure, and mode-of-action considerations in the use of transgenic animals for mutagenicity and carcinogenicity evaluations. He is a member of several professional societies, including the Society of Toxicology (serving as president in 1996-1997), the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics, the American Conference of Governmental and Industrial Hygienists, and the Teratology Society, and he is a diplomate of the American Board of Toxicology. Dr. Bus serves on the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Scientific Advisory Board.

David L. Eaton is professor of environmental health, associate dean of research, and director of the Center for Ecogenetics and Environmental Health at the University of Washington. He received a PhD in pharmacology from the University of Kansas Medical Center. Dr. Eaton’s research interests include the molecular basis of environmental causes of cancer and how human genetic differences in biotransformation enzymes may increase or decrease individual susceptibility to chemicals in the environment. He has served on numerous boards and committees, including the Board of Directors and as treasurer of the American Board of Toxicology (1990-1994), and was recently the president of the Society of Toxicology. Dr. Eaton has also served on the National Research Council Board on Environmental Studies and Toxicology and Subcommittee to Update the 1999 Arsenic Report.

Serrine S. Lau is a professor at the College of Pharmacy and director of the Southwest Environmental Health Sciences Center at the University of Arizona at Tucson. She earned a PhD in pharmacology from the University of Michigan. The focus of Dr. Lau’s research involves coupling the metabolic activation of chemicals to their target-organ toxicity. The major subjects of research in Dr. Lau’s laboratory include mass spectrometric approaches to proteomics, the mechanism of hydroquinone-mediated carcinogenicity, and prostanoid-mediated cytoprotection.

John A. Moore received his DVM from Michigan State University, is a board-certified toxicologist, and has primary interests in risk assessment and developmental and reproductive toxicology. Dr. Moore has held a number of senior positions in the U.S. Government, including assistant administrator for pesticides and toxic substances and acting deputy administrator of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency; deputy director of the National Toxicology Program (NTP); and director of toxicology research and testing at the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences. He served for 10 years as head of the not-for-profit Institute for Evaluating Health Risks and recently completed a 5-year term as principal scientist at the NTP Center for the Evaluation of Risks to Human Reproduction. Dr. Moore has served on several National Research Council committees, including being chair of the Subcommittee on the Toxicity of Diisopropyl Methylphosphonate and a member of the Subcommittee on Reproductive and Developmental Toxicology.

John Quackenbush is a professor in the Department of Biostatistics and Computational Biology, Dana-Farber Institute and Department of Biostatistics, Harvard University School of Public Health. His primary research areas are functional genomics and bioinformatics, and his work has focused on the integration of diverse data types to provide insight into biologic systems. He and his group have been investigating gene-expression patterns in animal models with the goal of identifying mechanisms underlying a range of human diseases. They have also used microarrays to look for diagnostic and prognostic expression fingerprints in human breast and colon cancer, and he has been active in using plant models to develop methods for integrating functional genomics and metabolomics approaches. He earned a PhD in theoretical particle physics from the University of California, Los Angeles.

Kenneth S. Ramos is professor and chair of the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at the University of Louisville Health Sciences Center. He also serves as director of the Center for Genetics and Molecular Medicine. He received a PhD in biochemical pharmacology and toxicology from the University of Texas at Austin. His research focuses on the study of molecular mechanisms of environmental disease and redox-regulated transcriptional control. Dr. Ramos has served on numerous National Research Council committees including the Committee for a Review of Evidence Regarding Link between Exposure to Agent Orange and Diabetes, Committee to Review the Health Effects in Vietnam Veterans of Exposure to Herbicides: First Biennial Update, Howard Hughes Medical Institute Predoctoral Fellowships Panel on Neurosciences and Physiology, and the Committee to Review the Health Effects in Vietnam Veterans of Exposure to Herbicides: Second Biennial Update.