Publication Details

The committee acknowledges with appreciation the individuals who provided information to the committee. These individuals include Richard Allen, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine; Sonia Ancoli-Israel, University of California, San Diego School of Medicine; Bonnie Austin, AcademyHealth; Donald Bliwise, Emory University; Martha Brewer, American Heart Association; Debra J. Brody, National Center for Health Statistics; Kathleen C. Buckwalter, University of Iowa Center on Aging; Roger Bulger, Association of Academic Health Centers; Daniel Buysse, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine; Andrea Califano, Columbia University; Sue Ciezadlo, American College of Chest Physicians; Charles A. Czeisler, Harvard University School of Medicine; William Dement, Stanford University School of Medicine; David Dinges, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine; Darrel Drobnich, National Sleep Foundation; Paul Eggers, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases; Lawrence Epstein, Sleep HealthCenters; Gary Ewart, American Thoracic Society; David Lewis, SleepMed, Inc; Magda Galindo, American Diabetes Association; Lee Goldman, University of California, San Francisco Medical School; Allan Gordon, American Thoracic Society; Daniel Gottlieb, Boston University School of Medicine; David Gozal, University of Louisville; Meir Kryger, University of Manitoba; James Kiley, National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute; David J. Kupfer, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine; Story Landis, National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke; Kathy Lee, University of California, San Francisco; Eugene J. Lengerich, Pennsylvania Cancer Control Consortium; Carole Marcus, The Children’s Hospital of Pennsylvania; Jennifer Markkanen, American Academy of Sleep Medicine; Michael Martin, Center for Scientific Review, National Institutes of Health; William McLeod, Institute of Medicine; John McGrath, National Institute of Child Health & Human Development; Merrill Mitler, National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke; Rosanne Money, American Academy of Sleep Medicine; Hal Moses, Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center; Judith Owens, Brown University Medical School; Barbara Phillips, University of Kentucky College of Medicine; Stuart Quan, University of Arizona; Roger Rosa, National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health; Thomas Roth, Henry Ford Health System of Detroit; Michael Sateia, Dartmouth University; Jerome Siegel, University of California, Los Angeles; John Slater, American Academy of Sleep Medicine; Margaret Snyder, National Institutes of Health; Ed Sondik, The National Center for Health Statistics; Ray Vento, American Lung Association; James Walsh, St. Luke’s Hospital; David White, Brigham and Women’s Hospital; Steven Wolinsky, Northwestern University; Terry Young, University of Wisconsin.

This study was sponsored by the American Academy of Sleep Medicine, the National Center on Sleep Disorders Research of the National Institutes of Health, the National Sleep Foundation, and the Sleep Research Society. We appreciate their support and especially thank Jerry Barrett, Richard Gelula, Al Golden, Carl Hunt, and Michael Twery for their efforts on behalf of this study.

We appreciate the work of John Fontanesi, University of California, San Diego for his commissioned paper. We also thank Andrew Pope for his guidance and Judy Estep for her expertise in formatting the report for production. Finally, we especially thank Cathy Liverman for all of her thoughtful guidance throughout the project.