NCBI Bookshelf. A service of the National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health.

Committee on Patient Safety and Health Information Technology; Institute of Medicine. Health IT and Patient Safety: Building Safer Systems for Better Care. Washington (DC): National Academies Press (US); 2011 Nov 10.

Cover of Health IT and Patient Safety

Health IT and Patient Safety: Building Safer Systems for Better Care.

Show details


The committee and staff would like to thank those who presented statements and presentations at the public workshops held on December 14, 2010, in Washington, DC, and on February 24, 2011, in Irvine, California:

  • Cameron Anderson, Family Healthcare Network
  • Karen Bell, Certification Commission for Health Information Technology
  • Kenneth Chrisman, Wells Fargo Bank, NA
  • Darren Dworkin, Cedars-Sinai
  • Floyd Eisenberg, National Quality Forum
  • Scott Finley, Westat
  • Ellen Harper, Cerner
  • Rainu Kaushal, Cornell University
  • Nancy Leveson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • William Munier, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
  • Mary Beth Navarra-Sirio, McKesson
  • Don Norman, Nielsen Norman Group
  • Judy Ozbolt, Westat
  • Steven Palmer, Family Healthcare Network
  • Peter Pronovost, Johns Hopkins University
  • Sumit Rana, Epic
  • Madhu Reddy, Pennsylvania State University
  • Ben Shneiderman, University of Maryland
  • Lawrence Shulman, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
  • Jeff Shuren, Food and Drug Administration
  • Dean Sittig, University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston
  • Randy Spratt, McKesson
  • James Walker, Geisinger Health System
  • David Woods, Ohio State University

We would also like to acknowledge and thank those who provided the committee and staff with their insights during the report process:

  • Elisabeth Belmont, MaineHealth
  • Pamela Brewer, Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society
  • Mary Ann Chaffee, Surescripts
  • Sarah Corley, NextGen Healthcare Information Systems, Inc.
  • James B. Couch, Patient Safety Solutions, LLC
  • Carl Dvorak, Epic
  • Edward Fotsch, PDR Network
  • John Glaser, Siemens Healthcare
  • Ellen Harper, Cerner Corporation
  • Gay Johannes, Cerner Corporation
  • Bruce Leshine, LeClairRyan
  • Svetlana Lowry, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
  • Bakul Patel, Food and Drug Administration
  • Matt Quinn, NIST
  • Russell Roberson, GE
  • Mark Segal, GE
  • Matthew Wynia, American Medical Association
  • David Yakimischak, Surescripts

The committee would also like thank the following commissioned paper authors:

  • Joan Ash, Oregon Health & Sciences University
  • Daniel Castro, Information Technology and Innovation Foundation
  • William Hersh, Oregon Health & Sciences University
  • Charles Kilo, Oregon Health & Sciences University
  • Hank Levine, Levine, Blaszak, Block & Boothby, LLP
  • Carmit McMullen, Kaiser Permanente Center for Health Research
  • Beth Rosenberg
  • Michael Shapiro, Oregon Health & Science University
  • Luke Stewart, Information Technology and Innovation Foundation
  • Joseph Wasserman, Oregon Health & Science University

In addition, there were many Institute of Medicine staff members who helped throughout the study process. The staff would like to thank Patrick Burke, Cassandra Cacace, Marton Cavani, Seth Glickman, Linda Kilroy, William McLeod, and Erin Wilhelm for their time and support to further the committee’s efforts during the study process.

Finally, we would like to thank and recognize Jodi Daniel and Kathy Kenyon from the Office of the National Coordinator for Health IT for their support and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services for sponsoring this study.

Copyright 2012 by the National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Bookshelf ID: NBK189659


  • PubReader
  • Print View
  • Cite this Page
  • PDF version of this title (997K)

Recent Activity

Your browsing activity is empty.

Activity recording is turned off.

Turn recording back on

See more...