NCBI Bookshelf. A service of the National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health.

National Research Council (US) Committee on a New Government-University Partnership for Science and Security. Science and Security in a Post 9/11 World: A Report Based on Regional Discussions Between the Science and Security Communities. Washington (DC): National Academies Press (US); 2007.

Cover of Science and Security in a Post 9/11 World

Science and Security in a Post 9/11 World: A Report Based on Regional Discussions Between the Science and Security Communities.

Show details


The committee gratefully acknowledges the contributions of the following individuals who made thoughtful presentations before it:

James R. Baker, Jr., University of Michigan; Hon. Stewart A. Baker, Department of Homeland Security; Timothy D. Bereznay, Federal Bureau of Investigation; Suzanne Berger, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Ruth L. Berkelman, Emory University; Gary K. Bertsch, University of Georgia; Hon. Lincoln P. Bloomfield, Jr., Palmer Coates LLC and Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP; Joanne P. Carney, American Association for the Advancement of Science; George M. Church, Harvard University; Raymond J. Clark; University of California, San Diego; Rachel Claus, Stanford University; Michelle Van Cleave, Office of National Counterintelligence; G. Wayne Clough, Georgia Institute of Technology; Richard Compans, Emory University School of Medicine; Stephen E. Cross, Georgia Institute of Technology, Georgia Tech Research Institute; Robert Cook-Deegan, Duke Institute for Genome Sciences and Policy Center for Genome Ethics Law and Policy; Dennis M. Dixon, Bacteriology and Mycology Branch Division of Microbiology and Infectious Diseases HHS/NIH/NIAID; Hon. Sue E. Eckert, Brown University; C.W. Francis Everitt, Stanford University; Peter A. Freeman, National Science Foundation; Frank Gaffney, Center for Security Policy; Jilda Diehl Garton, Georgia Institute of Technology; Hon. Paul Gilman, Oak Ridge National Laboratory; David J. Goldston, House Committee on Science, U.S. House of Representatives; Gigi Kwik Gronvall, University of Pittsburgh; John Hamre, Center for Strategic and International Studies; Elisa D. Harris, University of Maryland; Siegfried (Sig) Hecker, Stanford University; John L. Hennessy, Stanford University; Susan Hockfield, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Sheila S. Jasanoff, Harvard University, Richard A. Johnson, Arnold & Porter, LLP; Wendy J. Keefer, Bancroft Associates PLLC; Donald Kennedy, American Association for the Advancement of Science, Stanford University; Genevieve J. Knezo, Library of Congress; Gary LaFree, University of Maryland; Lisa M. Lee, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; Richard K. Lester, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Carol D. Linden, Department of Homeland Security; Gretchen L. Lorenzi, Federal Bureau of Investigation; Hon. John H. Marburger, III, Executive Office of the President; Grace L. Mastalli, Department of Homeland Security; Hon. David McCormick, Department of Commerce; Gary W. Miller, Emory University; Patrick Mulloy, U.S.-China Economic and Security Review Commission; Hon. Ernest J. Moniz, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Randall S. Murch, Virginia Tech-National Capital Region; Michael Nacht, University of California, Berkeley; Amy P. Patterson, National Institutes of Health; Hon. William J. Perry, Stanford University; Gregory J. Pottie, University of California, Los Angeles; David Relman, Stanford University; Judith V. Reppy, Cornell University; Shankar Sastry, University of California, Berkeley; Dana Shea, Library of Congress; Janet Shoemaker, American Society of Microbiology; Howard J. Silver, Consortium of Social Science Associations; Mark F. Smith, American Association of University Professors; Tobin Smith, Association of American Universities; Eugene B. Skolnikoff, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Debra W. Stewart, Council of Graduate Schools; Michelle Van Cleave, Office of the National Counterintelligence Executive; Charles M. Vest, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; William J. Wepfer, Georgia Institute of Technology; Hon. R. James Woolsey, Booz Allen Hamilton, Inc.; Barbara Yoder, University of California; Amy Zegart, University of California, Los Angeles; and Carol Zuiches, University of Washington.

Acknowledgment of Reviewers

This report has been reviewed in draft form by individuals chosen for their diverse perspectives and technical expertise, in accordance with procedures approved by the National Academies’ Report Review Committee. The purpose of this independent review is to provide candid and critical comments that will assist the institution in making its published report as sound as possible and to ensure that the report meets institutional standards for objectivity, evidence, and responsiveness to the study charge. The review comments and draft manuscript remain confidential to protect the integrity of the process.

We wish to thank the following individuals for their review of this report: Nancy Connell, New Jersey Medical School; Gerald Dinneen, Honeywell Inc., (Retired); Sidney Drell, Stanford University; Gerald Epstein, Center for Strategic and International Studies; David Goldston, Princeton University; Robert Hardy, Council on Government Relations; Robert Sparks, California Medical Association Foundation; Myron Uman, consultant; Mitchell Wallerstein, Syracuse University; and Nancy Wray, Dartmouth University. Although the reviewers listed above have provided many constructive comments and suggestions, they were not asked to endorse the conclusions or recommendations, nor did they see the final draft of the report before its release. The review of this report was overseen by Anita Jones, University of Virginia, and Alexander Flax, consultant. Appointed by the National Academies, they were responsible for making certain that an independent examination of this report was carried out in accordance with institutional procedures and that all review comments were carefully considered. Responsibility for the final content of this report rests entirely with the authoring committee and the institution.

Copyright © 2007, National Academy of Sciences.
Bookshelf ID: NBK11497


  • PubReader
  • Print View
  • Cite this Page
  • PDF version of this title (1.2M)

Recent Activity

Your browsing activity is empty.

Activity recording is turned off.

Turn recording back on

See more...