NCBI Bookshelf. A service of the National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health.

National Research Council (US) Committee on Comparative National Innovation Policies: Best Practice for the 21st Century; Wessner CW, Wolff AW, editors. Rising to the Challenge: U.S. Innovation Policy for the Global Economy. Washington (DC): National Academies Press (US); 2012.

Cover of Rising to the Challenge

Rising to the Challenge: U.S. Innovation Policy for the Global Economy.

Show details

Board on Science, Technology and Economic Policy (STEP)

For the National Research Council (NRC), this project was overseen by the Board on Science, Technology and Economic Policy (STEP), a standing board of the NRC established by the National Academies of Sciences and Engineering and the Institute of Medicine in 1991. The mandate of the Board on Science, Technology, and Economic Policy is to advise federal, state, and local governments and inform the public about economic and related public policies to promote the creation, diffusion, and application of new scientific and technical knowledge to enhance the productivity and competitiveness of the U.S. economy and foster economic prosperity for all Americans. The STEP Board and its committees marshal research and the expertise of scholars, industrial managers, investors, and former public officials in a wide range of policy areas that affect the speed and direction of scientific and technological change and their contributions to the growth of the U.S. and global economies. Results are communicated through reports, conferences, workshops, briefings, and electronic media subject to the procedures of the National Academies to ensure their authoritativeness, independence, and objectivity. The members of the STEP Board* and the NRC staff are listed below:

Paul L. Joskow, Chair


Alfred P. Sloan Foundation

Ernst R. Berndt

Louis E. Seley Professor in Applied Economics

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

John Donovan

Chief Technology Officer

AT&T Inc.

Alan M. Garber (IOM)


Harvard University

Ralph E. Gomory (NAS/NAE)

Research Professor

Stern School of Business

New York University

Mary L. Good (NAE)

Dean Emeritus, Donaghey College of Engineering and Information Technology

Special Advisor to the Chancellor for Economic Development

University of Arkansas at Little Rock

William H. Janeway


Warburg Pincus, LLC

Richard K. Lester

Japan Steel Industry Professor

Head, Nuclear Science and Engineering

Founding Director, Industrial Performance Center

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

William F. Meehan III

Lecturer in Strategic Management

Raccoon Partners Lecturer in Management

Graduate School of Business

Stanford University


Director Emeritus

McKinsey and Co., Inc.

David T. Morgenthaler

Founding Partner

Morgenthaler Ventures

Arati Prabhakar

Atherton, CA

Luis M. Proenza


The University of Akron

William J. Raduchel


Opera Software ASA

Kathryn L. Shaw

Ernest C. Arbuckle Professor of Economics

Graduate School of Business

Stanford University

Laura D’Andrea Tyson

S.K. and Angela Chan Professor of Global Management

Haas School of Business

University of California, Berkeley

Harold R. Varian

Chief Economist

Google, Inc.

Alan Wm. Wolff

Senior Counsel

McKenna Long & Aldridge LLP

STEP Staff

Stephen A. Merrill

Executive Director

Paul T. Beaton

Program Officer

McAlister T. Clabaugh

Program Officer

Aqila A. Coulthurst

Program Coordinator

Charles W. Wessner

Program Director

David S. Dawson

Senior Program Assistant

David E. Dierksheide

Program Officer

Sujai J. Shivakumar

Senior Program Officer



As of June 2012.

Copyright © 2012, National Academy of Sciences.
Bookshelf ID: NBK100315


  • PubReader
  • Print View
  • Cite this Page
  • PDF version of this title (5.2M)

Recent Activity

Your browsing activity is empty.

Activity recording is turned off.

Turn recording back on

See more...