Conserved Protein Domain Family

cl40485: AcrIF10 Superfamily 
Click on image for an interactive view with Cn3D
Anti-CRISPR type I subtype F10
AcrIF10 (also known as AcrF10) is an anti-CRISPR (Acr) protein which acts as a "DNA mimic protein" (DMP) that binds in the junction region between Cas 7.6f and Cas8f subunits of the type I-F CRISPR-Cas surveillance complex (Csy) to inhibit foreign DNA binding to the CRISPR-Cas adaptive immune system. The key feature of DMPs is their DNA-like shape and charge distribution, and they affect the activity of DNA-binding proteins by occupying their DNA-binding domains. The type I-F Csy is a crRNA-guided surveillance complex composed of a crRNA and nine Cas proteins (one Cas8f, one Cas5f, one Cas6f, and six Cas7f), which recruits a nuclease-helicase protein Cas3 for target degradation. Without Cas3 recruitment by the Csy-dsDNA complex, the CRISPR/Cas system is unable to efficiently destroy the invading DNA, resulting in the escape from the immune response. CRISPR-Cas immune systems are used by certain prokaryotes and archaea to resist the invasion of foreign nucleic acids such as phages or plasmids. Anti-CRISPRs are small proteins which are the natural inhibitors for CRISPR-Cas systems; encoded on bacterial and archaeal viruses, they allow the virus to evade host CRISPR-Cas systems. The CRISPR-Cas-mediated adaptive immune response can be divided into three steps, including the acquisition of spacer derived from invading nucleic acids, crRNA processing, and target degradation. Theoretically, Acr proteins could suppress any step to disrupt the CRISPR-Cas system. Acr proteins are diverse with no common sequence or structural motif which inhibit a wide range of CRISPR-Cas systems with various inhibition mechanisms. CRISPR-Cas systems are divided into two classes (1 and 2) and six types (class 1: types I, III and IV; class 2: types II, V and VI). Class 1 systems utilize RNA-guided complexes consisting of multiple Cas proteins as the effector proteins to recognize and cleave target DNA. Type I CRISPR-Cas systems are the most widespread in nature, and the Cas protein composition of the employed CRISPR ribonucleoprotein (crRNP) complexes differs between seven subtypes (A to F, U). Acr families are named for their type and subtype which are numbered sequentially as they are discovered.
Accession: cl40485
PSSM Id: 424116
Name: AcrIF10
Created: 24-Nov-2020
Updated: 24-Nov-2020
| Disclaimer | Privacy statement | Accessibility |
NCBI Home NCBI Search NCBI SiteMap