Send to:

Choose Destination
See comment in PubMed Commons below
Ugeskr Laeger. 2011 Jan 3;173(1):42-4.

[New classification of acute pancreatitis].

[Article in Danish]

Author information

  • 1Medicinsk Sektion, Gastroenheden, Hvidovre Hospital, Denmark.


The course of acute pancreatitis is in the initial phase dominated by a systemic inflammatory response, later by local complications. A new classification defines three specific types of pancreatitis: 1) interstitial oedematous pancreatitis and 2) necrotizing pancreatitis with pancreatic parenchymal necrosis, or 3) peripancreatic necrosis alone. The classification also defines four types of collections: 1) Acute peripancreatic fluid collection, 2) pseudocyst, 3) acute post-necrotic collection, and 4) walled-off necrosis. This article summarizes the terminology of the revised Atlanta classification.

[PubMed - indexed for MEDLINE]
PubMed Commons home

PubMed Commons

How to join PubMed Commons

    Supplemental Content

    Loading ...
    Write to the Help Desk