Logo of jbacterPermissionsJournals.ASM.orgJournalJB ArticleJournal InfoAuthorsReviewers
J Bacteriol. 1989 Oct; 171(10): 5694–5701.
PMCID: PMC210416

Identification and sequence of rfbS and rfbE, which determine antigenic specificity of group A and group D salmonellae.


Salmonella group A, group B, and group D strains have paratose, abequose, and tyvelose, respectively, as the immunodominant sugar in their O antigens, which are otherwise identical; only the final steps differ in the biosynthetic pathways of these sugars. The gene rfbJ from a group B strain, encoding abequose synthase, the final and only unique step in the biosynthesis of CDP-abequose, has been cloned and sequenced (P. Wyk and P. Reeves, J. Bacteriol. 171:5687-5693, 1989). In this study, we locate and sequence rfbS and rfbE from serovars typhi and paratyphi, representative of groups A and D. Gene rfbS is present in both groups and encodes paratose synthase, which carries out a step parallel to that of abequose synthase, but the product is CDP-paratose. The DNA and inferred amino acid sequences are compared with those of rfbJ. We conclude that the genes are homologous, but the divergence is extremely ancient. Gene rfbE encodes CDP-tyvelose epimerase, which converts CDP-paratose to CDP-tyvelose in group D strains; the gene is active in group D strains, and we find it to be present in a mutant form in group A strains. These two genes encode the steps unique to groups A and D and, like rfbJ of group B, are of low G+C content, suggesting transfer from outside of salmonellae. The evolutionary origin of these genes is discussed.

Full text

Full text is available as a scanned copy of the original print version. Get a printable copy (PDF file) of the complete article (2.0M), or click on a page image below to browse page by page. Links to PubMed are also available for Selected References.

Images in this article

Click on the image to see a larger version.

Selected References

These references are in PubMed. This may not be the complete list of references from this article.
  • Brahmbhatt HN, Wyk P, Quigley NB, Reeves PR. Complete physical map of the rfb gene cluster encoding biosynthetic enzymes for the O antigen of Salmonella typhimurium LT2. J Bacteriol. 1988 Jan;170(1):98–102. [PMC free article] [PubMed]
  • Frazer AC, Curtiss R., 3rd Production, properties and utility of bacterial minicells. Curr Top Microbiol Immunol. 1975;69:1–84. [PubMed]
  • Germanier R, Füer E. Isolation and characterization of Gal E mutant Ty 21a of Salmonella typhi: a candidate strain for a live, oral typhoid vaccine. J Infect Dis. 1975 May;131(5):553–558. [PubMed]
  • Kanehisa MI. Los Alamos sequence analysis package for nucleic acids and proteins. Nucleic Acids Res. 1982 Jan 11;10(1):183–196. [PMC free article] [PubMed]
  • Lemaire HG, Müller-Hill B. Nucleotide sequences of the gal E gene and the gal T gene of E. coli. Nucleic Acids Res. 1986 Oct 10;14(19):7705–7711. [PMC free article] [PubMed]
  • Matsuhashi S. Enzymatic synthesis of cytidine diphosphate 3,6-dideoxyhexoses. II. Reversible 2-epimerization of cytidine diphosphate paratose. J Biol Chem. 1966 Sep 25;241(18):4275–4282. [PubMed]
  • Nikaido H, Levinthal M, Nikaido K, Nakane K. Extended deletions in the histidine-rough-B region of the Salmonella chromosome. Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 1967 Jun;57(6):1825–1832. [PMC free article] [PubMed]
  • Ornellas EP, Stocker BA. Relation of lipopolysaccharide character to P1 sensitivity in Salmonella typhimurium. Virology. 1974 Aug;60(2):491–502. [PubMed]
  • Poustka A, Rackwitz HR, Frischauf AM, Hohn B, Lehrach H. Selective isolation of cosmid clones by homologous recombination in Escherichia coli. Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 1984 Jul;81(13):4129–4133. [PMC free article] [PubMed]
  • Sasaki T, Uchida T. Mutants of group D1 Salmonella carrying the somatic antigen of group A organisms: evidence for the lack of cytidine diphosphate paratose-2-epimerase activity. J Bacteriol. 1974 Jan;117(1):13–18. [PMC free article] [PubMed]
  • Verma NK, Quigley NB, Reeves PR. O-antigen variation in Salmonella spp.: rfb gene clusters of three strains. J Bacteriol. 1988 Jan;170(1):103–107. [PMC free article] [PubMed]
  • Wyk P, Reeves P. Identification and sequence of the gene for abequose synthase, which confers antigenic specificity on group B salmonellae: homology with galactose epimerase. J Bacteriol. 1989 Oct;171(10):5687–5693. [PMC free article] [PubMed]

Articles from Journal of Bacteriology are provided here courtesy of American Society for Microbiology (ASM)


Related citations in PubMed

See reviews...See all...

Cited by other articles in PMC

See all...


  • Gene
    Gene links
  • MedGen
    Related information in MedGen
  • Nucleotide
    Published Nucleotide sequences
  • Protein
    Published protein sequences
  • PubMed
    PubMed citations for these articles
  • Substance
    PubChem Substance links

Recent Activity

Your browsing activity is empty.

Activity recording is turned off.

Turn recording back on

See more...