The U.S. National Committee for the International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (USNC/IUBMB) and the Board on Life Sciences of the National Research Council (NRC) are grateful to the many individuals whose efforts made possible the symposium and the report. The symposium was supported by grants from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences/National Institutes of Health and the National Science Foundation, as well as by generous support from industry: ActiviX Biosciences, Applied Biosystems, Aventis Pharmaceuticals, DuPont Pharmaceuticals, Genentech, GeneProt, Large Scale Biology, Lynx Therapeutics, Micromass UK, MitoKor, Oxford GlycoSciences, Pfizer, Phylos, Prolinx, Proteome Systems., Structural Bioinformatics, and Structural GenomiX. The American Chemical Society also helped to support the symposium. People who were especially helpful in preparing for this meeting included Pamela Gamble, Laura Sheahan, Scott Spaulding, Lois Peterson, and Wendy White, all of the Board of International Scientific Organizations (BISO) of the NRC.

George Kenyon, chair of both the U.S. National Committee for the International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (USN/IUBMB) and the ad hoc symposium steering committee, conceived of the workshop in an effort to encourage discussion about the future of proteomics, similar to the preliminary meetings held for the Human Genome Project. The workshop was organized by an ad hoc steering committee derived from two committees of the National Research Council (NRC): the USNC/IUBMB and the Board on Life Sciences. The steering committee selected the speakers and some of its members wrote the workshop report. The committee members are George Kenyon (Chair), David DeMarini, Elaine Fuchs, David Galas, Jack Kirsch, Walter Moos, Gregory Petsko, Dagmar Ringe, and Gerald Rubin. Breakout session chair, Tom Leyh, Albert Einstein College of Medicine, was the only report author not part of the original steering committee.

This report has been reviewed in draft form by individuals chosen for their diverse perspectives and technical expertise, in accordance with procedures approved by the NRC's Report Review Committee. The purpose of this independent review is to provide candid and critical comments that will assist the institution in making its published report as sound as possible and to ensure that the report meets institutional standards for objectivity and evidence. The review comments and draft manuscript remain confidential to protect the integrity of the deliberative process.

We wish to thank the following individuals for their review of this report: Cheryl Arrowsmith, University of Toronto; Patricia Babbitt, University of California, San Francisco; David Baker, University of Washington; Samir Hanash, University of Michigan; John Quakenbush, Institute for Genomic Research, and Russell Thomas, Kalypsys, Inc. Although the reviewers listed above have provided many constructive comments and suggestions, they were not asked to endorse the content of the report, nor did they see the final draft before its release. The review of this report was overseen by Cynthia Beall, Case Western Reserve University, who was responsible for making certain that an independent examination of this report was carried out in accordance with institutional procedures and that all review comments were carefully considered. Responsibility for the final content of this report rests entirely with the authoring committee and the institution.