Forum on Microbial Threats1

Publication Details

DAVID A. RELMAN (Chair), Stanford University and Veterans Affairs Palo Alto Health Care System, Palo Alto, California

JAMES M. HUGHES (Vice-Chair), Global Infectious Diseases Program, Emory University, Atlanta, Georgia

LONNIE J. KING (Vice-Chair), Ohio State University, Columbus

KEVIN ANDERSON, Department of Homeland Security, Washington, DC

RUTH L. BERKELMAN, Center for Public Health Preparedness and Research, Rollins School of Public Health, Emory University, Atlanta, Georgia

DAVID BLAZES,2 Armed Forces Health Surveillance Center, Division of Global Emerging Infectious Surveillance, Silver Spring, Maryland

ENRIQUETA C. BOND, Burroughs Wellcome Fund (Emeritus), Marshall, Virginia

ROGER BREEZE, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, Livermore, California

STEVEN J. BRICKNER,3 SJ Brickner Consulting, LLC, Ledyard, Connecticut

PAULA R. BRYANT, Defense Threat Reduction Agency, Medical S&T Division, Fort Belvoir, Virginia

JOHN E. BURRIS, Burroughs Wellcome Fund, Research Triangle Park, North Carolina

ARTURO CASADEVALL,2 Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Bronx, New York

PETER DASZAK, EcoHealth Alliance, New York, New York

JEFFREY S. DUCHIN, Public Health–Seattle and King County, Seattle, Washington

JONATHAN EISEN, Genome Center, University of California, Davis

MARK B. FEINBERG, Merck Vaccine Division, Merck & Co., West Point, Pennsylvania

JACQUELINE FLETCHER, Oklahoma State University, Stillwater

S. ELIZABETH GEORGE,3 Department of Homeland Security, Washington, DC

JESSE L. GOODMAN, Food and Drug Administration, Rockville, Maryland

EDUARDO GOTUZZO, Instituto de Medicina Tropical–Alexander von Humbolt, Universidad Peruana Cayetano Heredia, Lima, Peru

CAROLE A. HEILMAN, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Maryland

DAVID L. HEYMANN, Health Protection Agency, London, United Kingdom

PHILIP HOSBACH, sanofi pasteur, Swiftwater, Pennsylvania

STEPHEN ALBERT JOHNSTON, Arizona BioDesign Institute, Arizona State University, Tempe

KENT KESTER, Walter Reed Army Institute of Research, Silver Spring, Maryland

GERALD T. KEUSCH, Boston University School of Medicine and Boston University School of Public Health, Boston, Massachusetts

RIMA F. KHABBAZ, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Atlanta, Georgia

STANLEY M. LEMON, School of Medicine, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

EDWARD McSWEEGAN, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Maryland

MARK A. MILLER, Fogarty International Center, Bethesda, Maryland

PAUL F. MILLER,4 Pfizer, Inc., Groton, Connecticut

STEPHEN S. MORSE,5 Center for Public Health Preparedness, Columbia University, New York, New York

GEORGE POSTE, Complex Adaptive Systems Initiative, Arizona State University, Tempe, Arizona

JOHN C. POTTAGE, JR., ViiV Healthcare, Collegeville, Pennsylvania

DAVID RIZZO,6 Department of Plant Pathology, University of California, Davis

GARY A. ROSELLE, Veterans Health Administration, Department of Veterans Affairs, Cincinnati, Ohio

ALAN S. RUDOLPH, Defense Threat Reduction Agency, Fort Belvoir, Virginia

KEVIN RUSSELL, Armed Forces Health Surveillance Center, Department of Defense, Silver Spring, Maryland

JANET SHOEMAKER, American Society for Microbiology, Washington, DC

P. FREDERICK SPARLING, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, North Carolina

TERENCE TAYLOR, International Council for the Life Sciences, Arlington, Virginia

MURRAY TROSTLE, U.S. Agency for International Development, Washington, DC

MARY E. WILSON, Harvard School of Public Health, Harvard University, Boston, Massachusetts



LEIGHANNE OLSEN, Program Officer

KATHERINE McCLURE, Senior Program Associate

COLLIN WEINBERGER, Research Associate (until May 2011)

REBEKAH HUTTON, Research Associate (from June 2011)

ROBERT GASIOR, Senior Program Assistant (until March 2011)

PAMELA BERTELSON, Senior Program Assistant (since September 2011)



Institute of Medicine Forums and Roundtables do not issue, review, or approve individual documents. The responsibility for the published workshop summary rests with the workshop rapporteurs and the institution.


Forum member since September 1, 2011.


Forum member until December 31, 2010.


Forum member until July 31, 2011.


Forum member until December 31, 2010.


Forum member since September 1, 2011.