NCBI Bookshelf. A service of the National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health.

National Academies (US) Committee on Measuring Economic and Other Returns on Federal Research Investments. Measuring the Impacts of Federal Investments in Research: A Workshop Summary. Washington (DC): National Academies Press (US); 2011.

Cover of Measuring the Impacts of Federal Investments in Research

Measuring the Impacts of Federal Investments in Research: A Workshop Summary.

Show details

Board on Science, Technology, and Economic Policy

National Research Council

PAUL JOSKOW (Chair), President, Alfred P. Sloan Foundation

LEWIS COLEMAN, President, DreamWorks Animation

JOHN DONOVAN, Chief Technology Officer, AT and T

ALAN GARBER, Henry J. Kaiser, Jr. Professor and Professor of Medicine; Director, Center for Health Policy, Stanford University

RALPH GOMORY, President Emeritus, Alfred P. Sloan Foundation

MARY GOOD, Donaghey University Professor and Dean Emeritus, Donaghey College of Information Science and Systems Engineering, University of Arkansas at Little Rock

RICHARD LESTER, Professor and Department Head, Department of Nuclear Science and Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

AMORY HOUGHTON, Jr., Former Member of Congress

DAVID MORGENTHALER, Founding Partner, Morgenthaler Ventures

WILLIAM MEEHAN, Lecturer in Strategic Management and Raccoon Partners Lecturer in Management, Stanford Graduate School of Business; and Director Emeritus, McKinsey and Company

JOSEPH NEWHOUSE, John D. MacArthur Professor of Health Policy and Management and Director, Division of Health Policy Research and Education, Harvard University

EDWARD PENHOET, Director, Alta Partners

ARATI PRABHAKAR, General Partner, U.S. Venture Partners

WILLIAM RADUCHEL, Strategic Advisor and Independent Director

KATHYRN SHAW, Earnest C. Arbuckle Professor of Economics, Graduate School of Business, Stanford University

LAURA D’ANDREA TYSON, S.K. and Angela Chan Professor of Global Management, Haas School of Business, University of California, Berkeley

HAL VARIAN, Chief Economist, Google, Inc.

ALAN WM. WOLFF, Of Counsel, Dewey and LeBoeuf LLP

Ex-Officio Members

RALPH CICERONE, President, National Academy of Sciences

CHARLES VEST, President, National Academy of Engineering

HARVEY FINEBERG, President, Institute of Medicine


STEPHEN A. MERRILL, Executive Director

CHARLES WESSNER, Program Director

SUJAI SHIVAKUMAR, Senior Program Officer



PAUL BEATON, Program Officer

CYNTHIA GETNER, Financial Associate

DANIEL MULLINS, Program Associate

DAVID DAWSON, Program Associate

Copyright © 2011, National Academy of Sciences.
Bookshelf ID: NBK83120


  • PubReader
  • Print View
  • Cite this Page
  • PDF version of this title (1.6M)

Recent Activity

Your browsing activity is empty.

Activity recording is turned off.

Turn recording back on

See more...