Workshop on Grand Challenges in Neuroscience Planning Committee*

ALAN LESHNER (Chair), American Association for the Advancement of Science, Washington, DC

ALAN BREIER, University of Indiana, Indianapolis

DAVID COHEN, Columbia University, Society for Neuroscience representative, New York

RICHARD HODES, National Institute on Aging, Bethesda, MD

STEVEN HYMAN, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA

JUDY ILLES, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada

THOMAS INSEL, National Institute of Mental Health, Bethesda, MD

STORY LANDIS, National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, Bethesda, MD

TING-KAI LI, National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, Bethesda, MD

MICHAEL OBERDORFER, National Institutes on Health Neuroscience Blueprint, Bethesda, MD

KATHIE OLSEN, National Science Foundation, Arlington, VA

WILLIAM POTTER, Merck Research Laboratories, Inc., North Wales, PA

ROBERT RICHARDSON, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY

PAUL SIEVING, National Eye Institute, Bethesda, MD

RAE SILVER, Columbia University, New York

ROY TWYMAN, Johnson & Johnson Pharmaceutical Research and Development, Inc., Titusville, NJ

NORA VOLKOW, National Institute on Drug Abuse, Bethesda, MD

IOM Staff

BRUCE ALTEVOGT, Forum Director

SARAH HANSON, Senior Program Associate

LORA TAYLOR, Senior Project Assistant

DIONNA ALI, Anderson Intern



IOM planning committees are solely responsible for organizing the workshop, identifying topics, and choosing speakers. The responsibility for the published workshop summary rests with the workshop rapporteurs and the institution.