Committee on Assessing the System for Protecting Human Research Participants

Publication Details

DANIEL D. FEDERMAN (Chair), Carl W. Walter Distinguished Professor of Medicine and Medical Education, Harvard University, Boston, MA

DANIEL L. AZARNOFF, President, D.L. Azarnoff Associates and Senior Vice President of Clinical and Regulatory Affairs, Cellegy Pharmaceuticals, San Francisco, CA

TOM BEAUCHAMP, Professor, Kennedy Institute of Ethics, Georgetown University, Washington, DC

TIMOTHY STOLTZFUS JOST, Robert L. Willett Family Professor of Law, Washington and Lee University School of Law, Lexington, VA

PATRICIA A. KING, Carmack Waterhouse Professor of Law, Medicine, Ethics, and Public Policy, Georgetown University Law Center, Washington, DC

RODERICK J.A. LITTLE, Richard D. Remington Collegiate Professor of Biostatistics, School of Public Health, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI

JAMES McNULTY, President, Board of Directors, National Alliance for the Mentally Ill, and President, Depressive/Manic Depressive Association of Rhode Island, Bristol, RI

ANNE PETERSEN, Senior Vice President-Programs, Kellogg Foundation, Battle Creek, MI

BONNIE W. RAMSEY, Professor, Department of Pediatrics, University of Washington School of Medicine, Seattle, WA

LYDIA VILLA-KOMAROFF, Vice President for Research, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL

FRANCES M. VISCO, President, The National Breast Cancer Coalition, Washington, DC

Expert Advisers

KAY DICKERSIN, Associate Professor, Department of Community Health, Brown University School of Medicine, Providence, RI

ALBERTO GRIGNOLO, Senior Vice President and General Manager for Worldwide Regulatory Affairs, PAREXEL International, Waltham, MA

MARY FAITH MARSHALL, Professor of Medicine and Bioethics, School of Medicine, Kansas University Medical Center, Kansas City, KS

CAROL SAUNDERS, President and Chief Executive Officer, Center for Clinical Research Practice, Wellesley, MA

DENNIS TOLSMA, Associate Director, Clinical Affairs and Director of Research, Kaiser Permanente, Atlanta, GA


RICHARD J. BONNIE, John S. Battle Professor of Law and Director, Institute of Law, Psychiatry, and Public Policy, Charlottesville, VA

NANCY NEVELOFF DUBLER, Director, Division of Bioethics, Montefiore Medical Center; Professor of Epidemiology & Social Medicine, Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Bronx, NY

ELENA OTTOLENGHI NIGHTINGALE, Scholar-in-Residence, Institute of Medicine and National Research Council, Washington, DC

PILAR OSSORIO, Assistant Professor of Law and Bioethics, Associate Director of the Center for the Study of Race and Ethnicity in Medicine, University of Wisconsin, Madison Law School, Madison, WI

Study Staff


ROBERT COOK-DEEGAN, Senior Program Officer

JESSICA AUNGST, Research Assistant

NATASHA DICKSON, Senior Project Assistant

IOM Board on Health Sciences Policy Staff

ANDREW M. POPE, Board Director

CHARLES H. EVANS, JR., Scholar-in-Residence

ALDEN CHANG, Administrative Assistant

CARLOS GABRIEL, Financial Associate



Copy Editors