NCBI Bookshelf. A service of the National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health.

National Research Council (US) Committee on Undergraduate Biology Education to Prepare Research Scientists for the 21st Century. Bio2010: Transforming Undergraduate Education for Future Research Biologists. Washington (DC): National Academies Press (US); 2003.

Cover of Bio2010

Bio2010: Transforming Undergraduate Education for Future Research Biologists.

Show details

CMembership of the Panels and Workshop*

Bio2010 Chemistry Panel Roster

Ronald Breslow, Panel Leader, Columbia University

Arthur Ellis, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Marc Loudon, Purdue University

Jerry Mohrig, Carleton College

Jeanne Pemberton, University of Arizona

Dale Poulter, University of Utah

Sheldon Wettack, Harvey Mudd College

Bio2010 Physics and Engineering Panel Roster

John Hopfield, Panel Leader, Princeton University

Daniel Axelrod, University of Michigan

Scott Fraser, California Institute of Technology

Jonathon Howard, Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics

Mimi Koehl, University of California-Berkeley

Carl Luchies, University of Kansas-Lawrence

Jose Onuchic, University of California-San Diego

Viola Vogel, University of Washington

Bio2010 Mathematics and Computer Science Panel Roster

Nancy Kopell, Panel Leader, Boston University

Robert Blystone, Trinity University

Louis J. Gross, University of Tennessee

Richard Karp, University of California-Berkeley

Eric Lander, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Markus Meister, Harvard University

Alan Perelson, Los Alamos National Laboratory

Charles Peskin, New York University

Louise Ryan, Harvard University

Dewitt Sumners, Florida State University

Workshop Participants

Julian Adams, University of Michigan

Ann Burgess, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Malcolm Campbell, Davidson College

Denice Denton, University of Washington

Mike Doyle, Research Corporation

Billy Joe Evans, University of Michigan

Louis Gross, University of Tennessee

Keith Howard, Morehouse College

John Jungck, Beloit College

Priscilla Laws, Dickinson College

Jerry Mohrig, Carleton College

Jeanne Narum, Project Kaleidoscope

Fred Rudolph, Rice University

Patricia Soochan, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Sheldon Wettack, Harvey Mudd College

Terry Woodin, National Science Foundation


The committee would like to thank the members of the panels for their contribution to the report. The full texts of the panel reports presented to the committee are available from the Public Access Records Office at the National Research Council. Many of the ideas of the panels have been incorporated into the report, and other aspects of the panel reports influenced the committee's deliberations. Summaries of the panel reports are presented here to give the reader a sense of the full range of topics discussed by the panels.



Biographical information is included in each summary.

Copyright © 2003, National Academy of Sciences.
Bookshelf ID: NBK43516


  • PubReader
  • Print View
  • Cite this Page
  • PDF version of this title (1.9M)

Recent Activity

Your browsing activity is empty.

Activity recording is turned off.

Turn recording back on

See more...