NCBI Bookshelf. A service of the National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health.

Government-University-Industry Research Roundtable (US); National Academy of Sciences (US); National Academy of Engineering (US); Institute of Medicine (US); Fox MA, editor. Pan-Organizational Summit on the US Science and Engineering Workforce: Meeting Summary. Washington (DC): National Academies Press (US); 2003.

Cover of Pan-Organizational Summit on the US Science and Engineering Workforce

Pan-Organizational Summit on the US Science and Engineering Workforce: Meeting Summary.

Show details

CSummit Agenda Pan-Organizational Summit on the U.S. Science and Engineering Workforce


2:30Opening remarks—GUIRR Co-Chair William H. Joyce, CEO Hercules
2:40Challenges to the Community (Federal Session I)
NASA—Sam Armstrong, Senior Adviser to the Administrator
National Aeronautics and Space Administration
DEd—Susan Sclafani, Counselor to the Secretary of Education
Department of Education
DOE—Peter Faletra, Assistant Director, Science Education, Office of Science
Department of Energy
DOC—John F. Sargent, Senior Technology Policy Analyst
Department of Commerce
3:20Position papers, Group I
BEST—John Yochelson, President
Building Engineering and Science Talent
NCTM—Johnny Lott, President
National Council of Teachers of Mathematics
SACNAS—Maria Elena Zavala, President
Society for Advancement of Chicanos & Native Americans in Science
IRI —James Clovis, Head, Precollege Education Subcommittee
Industrial Research Institute
All Sessions to take place in the National Academies' building at
2101 Constitution Avenue, NW, Washington, DC
Panel Discussion with Presenters
4:25Position papers, Group II
NACME—Daryl Chubin, Sr. Vice President, Policy and Research
National Action Council for Minorities in Engineering
ETS—Kurt Landgraf, President & CEO
Educational Testing Service
Sigma Xi—W. Frank Gilmore, President
Sigma Xi, the Scientific Research Society
WEPAN—Jan Rinehart, President
Women in Engineering Programs and Advocates Network
Alfred P. Sloan Foundation—Michael Teitelbaum, Director, S&E Workforce
Panel Discussion with Presenters
5:35Challenges to the Community (Federal Session II)
NSF— Judith Ramaley, Assistant Director, Education & Human Resources
National Science Foundation
DOT— Joseph S. Toole, Associate Administrator for Professional Development
Department of Transportation
6:00Reception (all), Rotunda
6:20Dinner (GUIRR members and invited speakers/designated presenters only)
Members' Room
Robert Reich, Secretary of Labor, Clinton Administration


7:00Continental Breakfast
7:50Opening remarks—GUIRR Co-Chair Marye Anne Fox, Chancellor, North Carolina State University
8:00Position papers, Group IV
The National Academies—Wm. A. Wulf, President, National Academy of Engineering
The National Academies
AAAS—Shirley Malcom, Director, Education & Human Resources
American Association for the Advancement of Science
ASEE Engineering Dean's Council—David Wormley, Dean, College of Engineering, Penn State University
American Society of Engineering Education
Business-Higher Education Forum—Dr. Constantine Papadakis, President, Drexel University
Business-Higher Education Forum
Panel Discussion with Presenters
9:00Position papers, Group V
GEM Consortium—Saundra Johnson, Executive Director
National Consortium for Graduate Degrees for Minorities in Science
AIChE—Dianne Dorland, President-Elect
American Institute of Chemical Engineers
ASCE—Tom Lenox, Sr. Managing Director
American Society for Civil Engineers
IEEE-USA—LeEarl Bryant, President
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
Panel Discussion with Presenters
10:15Position papers, Group VI
Project Kaleidoscope—Jeanne Narum, Director
Project Kaleidoscope
ASME—Susan Skemp, President
American Society of Mechanical Engineers
ASBMB—Stephen Dahms, Executive Director, CSUPERB
American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Panel Discussion with Presenters
11:15Position papers, Group VII
RAND—Bill Butz, Senior Economist
RAND Corporation
AIP—James H. Stith, Vice President, Physics Resources
American Institute of Physics
NSBP—Keith Jackson, President
National Society of Black Physicists
Council on Competitiveness— Amy Kaslow, Senior Fellow
Council on Competitiveness
Panel Discussion with Presenters
12:15Lunch, Lecture Room and Great Hall
Shirley Jackson, President, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, “Envisioning a 21st Century Science and Engineering Workforce”
1:00Position papers, Group VIII
ASTRA—Mary Good, Chair
Alliance for Science and Technology Research in Americ
CPST— Eleanor Babco, Executive Director
Commission on Professionals in Science and Technology
ITAA— Harris Miller, President & CEO
Information Technology Association of America
MentorNet—Carol Muller, President & CEO
Panel Discussion with Presenters
2:00Position papers, Group IX
NAM—Phyllis Eisen, Vice President Manufacturing Institute
National Association of Manufacturers
Global Alliance—Yolanda George, Co-Director
Global Alliance
PPS—Joan Timoney, Vice President, Programs
Partnership for Public Service
Coalition of the Concerned—Sam Armstrong
Coalition of the Concerned
Panel Discussion with Presenters
3:15Summary, Points of Agreement and Disagreement among Presented Positions
GUIRR Co-Chair Marye Anne Fox, Chancellor, North Carolina State University
3:30Q&A / Discussion of the Way Ahead
Copyright © 2003, National Academy of Sciences.
Bookshelf ID: NBK36385
PubReader format: click here to try


  • PubReader
  • Print View
  • Cite this Page
  • PDF version of this title (13M)

Recent Activity

Your browsing activity is empty.

Activity recording is turned off.

Turn recording back on

See more...