Independent Report Reviewers

This report has been reviewed in draft form by individuals chosen for their diverse perspectives and technical expertise, in accordance with procedures approved by the NRC's Report Review Committee. The purpose of this independent review is to provide candid and critical comments that will assist the institution in making its published report as sound as possible and to ensure that the report meets institutional standards for objectivity, evidence, and responsiveness to the study charge. The review comments and draft manuscript remain confidential to protect the integrity of the deliberative process. We wish to thank the following individuals for their review of this report:

John S. Greenspan, University of California, San Francisco

Steven Hyman, Harvard University

David Korn, Association of American Medical Colleges

Edward D. Miller, The Johns Hopkins University

Jordan S. Pober, Yale University

David Roessner, SRI International

Joan L. Samuelson, Parkinson's Action Network

Brian L. Strom, University of Pennsylvania

Terrie Wetle, Brown University

Although the reviewers listed above have provided many constructive comments and suggestions, they were not asked to endorse the conclusions or recommendations nor did they see the final draft of the report before its release. The review of this report was overseen by William N. Kelley, Professor of Medicine, Biochemistry, and Biophysics at the University of Pennsylvania Medical School, appointed by the Institute of Medicine, and Floyd E. Bloom, Chairman, Department of Neuropharmacology, The Scripps Research Institute, appointed by the NRC's Report Review Committee. They were responsible for making certain that an independent examination of this report was carried out in accordance with institutional procedures and that all review comments were carefully considered. Responsibility for the final content of this report rests entirely with the authoring committee and the institution.