Committee on Cancer Research Among Minorities and the Medically Underserved

M. ALFRED HAYNES (Chair), Former President and Dean, Drew Postgraduate Medical School, and Former Director, Drew-Meharry-Morehouse Consortium Cancer Center, Rancho Palos Verdes, California

REGINA BENJAMIN, Physician, Bayou La Batre Rural Health Clinic, Inc., Bayou La Batre, Alabama

CHARLES L. BENNETT, Director of Outcomes Research, Robert Lurie Cancer Center, Northwestern University, and VA Chicago Health Care Systems

BARUCH S. BLUMBERG, Fox Chase Distinguished Scientist,Fox Chase Cancer Center, Philadelphia

MOON S. CHEN, JR., Professor and Chair, Division of Health Behavior and Health Promotion, School of Public Health, College of Medicine and Public Health, Ohio State University

GILBERT FRIEDELL, Director for Cancer Control, University of Kentucky

ANNA R. GIULIANO, Assistant Professor of Epidemiology, Arizona Prevention Center, Director, Minority Cancer Prevention and Control Program, Arizona Cancer Center, University of Arizona

JAMES W. HAMPTON, Medical Director, Troy and Dollie Smith Cancer Center at Integris Baptist Medical Center, Clinical Professor of Medicine, University of Oklahoma College of Medicine, and Cancer Care Associates, Oklahoma City

VICTOR A. McKUSICK (Vice Chair) University Professor of Medical Genetics, Johns Hopkins Hospital, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

LAWRENCE MIIKE, Director, Department of Health, State of Hawaii, Honolulu

SARAH MOODY-THOMAS, Associate Director, Stanley S. Scott Cancer Center, and Professor, Department of Psychiatry, Louisiana State University Medical Center, New Orleans

LARRY NORTON, Associate Professor of Oncology, Mount Sinai School of Medicine, and Head, Breast Disease Management Team, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, New York

MADISON POWERS, Senior Research Scholar, Kennedy Institute of Ethics, Georgetown University

SUSAN C. SCRIMSHAW, Dean, School of Public Health, and Professor, Community Health Sciences and Anthropology, University of Illinois at Chicago

FERNANDO M. TREVINO, Professor and Chairman, Department of Public Health and Preventive Medicine, Health Science Center at Forth Worth, University of North Texas

Committee Liaisons

ADA SUE HINSHAW, Dean, School of Nursing, University of Michigan

AMELIE G. RAMIREZ, Associate Professor and Associate Director, Center for Cancer Control Research, Baylor College of Medicine

Study Staff

BRIAN SMEDLEY, Study Director

YVETTE BENJAMIN, Research Associate (through 10/98)

THELMA COX, Senior Project Assistant



Copy Editors



Section Staff

CHARLES H. EVANS, JR., Head, Health Sciences Section

ANDREW M. POPE, Director, Health Policy Program

LINDA DEPUGH, Administrative Assistant

JAMAINE TINKER, Financial Associate (through 10/98)