A peer review panel was assembled for chromium. The panel consisted of the following members:

  1. Dr. Detmar Beyersmann, Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry, University of Bremen, Germany,
  2. John Pierce Wise, Sr., Ph.D., Director, Maine Center for Toxicology and Environmental Health, Professor of Toxicology and Molecular Epidemiology, Department of Applied Medical Sciences, University of Southern Maine, 96 Falmouth St., Portland, ME 04104-9300, and
  3. Richard Sedman, Ph.D., Toxicologist, Office of Environmental Health Hazard Assessment, California Environmental Protection Agency, Oakland, CA.

These experts collectively have knowledge of chromium’s physical and chemical properties, toxicokinetics, key health end points, mechanisms of action, human and animal exposure, and quantification of risk to humans. All reviewers were selected in conformity with the conditions for peer review specified in Section 104(I)(13) of the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act, as amended.

Scientists from the Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR) have reviewed the peer reviewers' comments and determined which comments will be included in the profile. A listing of the peer reviewers' comments not incorporated in the profile, with a brief explanation of the rationale for their exclusion, exists as part of the administrative record for this compound.

The citation of the peer review panel should not be understood to imply its approval of the profile's final content. The responsibility for the content of this profile lies with the ATSDR.